Mr. Kitty’s Mystery

Victoria Polmatier
Bridging Worlds
Published in
1 min readSep 4, 2019

--

An ode to a wandering cat

Photo by Author

It’s a mystery to me
where he spends his day
stopping in for breakfast
then on his merry way

I’ve seen him in the lane next door
or running with the deer
perhaps he lives with bobcats
he certainly has no fear

Maybe the ghost of Jason
lives in the woods of the ravine
and he and Mr. Kitty
wander in that space in-between

But late into the night
when sleep is not my friend
I’ll rise to pass the time by
and there he’ll be again

Rubbing up against my leg
or standing on the desk
looking for some food, I think
and being quite the pest

He settles down into my arms
and looks me in the eye
as if to say it’s all okay
and we will all get by

--

--

Victoria Polmatier
Bridging Worlds

Writing into the intersection of connection to nature, the inherent pain of being human, and finding the sacred every day. https://victoriapolmatier.com