THE OLD MAN AND THE BRIDGE

Gene Biewen
2 min readAug 30, 2020

--

Volume 2

When you spend 3 months worth of nights on a public roadway with a controversial message you expect to have interesting experiences, and I certainly have. Early on, our group of 25–100 came off the bridge at 8:30 to be met by a squadron of pickup’s whose occupants engaged in some harassment involving racial slurs. Concerned about the danger of a physical engagement, I alerted local law enforcement. Two officers showed up the next night and conversations with them and a 911 operator caused me to believe that my presence at the protest made me their enemy. I assured them that was not the case, but that great change in policing was imperative. They don’t know that during subsequent protests I spoke out against signs that cursed and condemned all cops. Such generalizing is self-defeating and harms our cause. I have never, nor will I ever, experience racial discrimination. Thus, I can never claim to “feel the pain” of such victims. But I want to win-to destroy racism. Violence, neither verbal nor physical, will help in that struggle. Good, well trained law officers , trained to “ Protect snd serve” can and must help. George Floyd might be alive today had such a cop stepped up. I believe that Mankato has many such officers.

As the number of demonstrators dwindled, I chose to continue simply because I believe so much in the cause of racial justice and it seems obvious that our schools, our churches and our parents have not been up to the task. I know more than one educated person who denies the existence of systemic racism, accepting only the presence of a “ few bad apples”. In my time on the bridge I have met a variety of apples. Almost every night I have a memorable experience.

A “few” of the encounters were negative, but notable. There were the thumbs down and middle fingers up, sometimes accompanied by “F-you’s”. While I welcomed discussion of opposition viewpoints with walkers and bicyclists, that almost never happened. I was called a “puppet of the communists” and an “F-ing clown”, but remembered the “sticks and stones” rhyme from my long ago childhood. The two verbal exchanges easily recalled were: 1. The guy who asked me, “Don’t you have anything better to do”? My response was “No, actually I don’t. This is the best thing I could be doing right now.” Another gentleman had good advice for me to, “Get a job”. He moved on before I could show him my driver’s license. Finally, on the negative side, there is the “Vroooom” of the high powered vehicles driving as close to our curb as possible. Intimidation??

The positive responses are numerous ranging from the non-verbal thumbs up and waves and honks of motorists to many shouted “Thanks”. There have been handouts of Gatorade and water and a BLM bracelet. One young Black man tried to give me money. Satisfying? Yes. Humbling? Very much so. Completed? Not even close. Stay tuned.

--

--