How to Develop a Website by using ChatGPT?

Naz Eylem
6 min readFeb 23, 2023

--

Hello everyone,

I developed my portfolio website from scratch by using the w3school bootstrap 4 tutorial and ChatGPT. In this article, I will explain how to build your own in simple steps.

Naz Eylem Product Manager Portfolio Website

You can click to see my portfolio website.

Before jumping into coding and ChatGPT, I did a little research on what other product managers’ portfolio websites contain and how they position UI elements on their sites. Then I finalized which sections I should put and what their names are.

I hand-draw a mock-up. It contains sections: navbar, header, footer, about me with social info, summary, services, career, product studies, tools, and sticky contact me button.

mock-up for portfolio website

About my background

I am a product person with 6 years of experience.

When I was a 17 years old gothic girl, I attempted to write my vampirefreaks profile from scratch with only HTML. The reason is that I wanted to add some authenticity to my profile. Since then, I didn’t commit to coding anything except my homework at university which was generally written in Matlab or Arduino.

I like learning and trying new things. I formerly used Elementor to build some websites. But this time, I decided to give myself and Chat GPT to prove anyone can develop a simple portfolio website.

First Step: Selecting a Programming Language to Play with

I experienced how google bots treat non-responsive websites when I was leading a customer-faced product (solution partners). I am aware that Google won’t rank you high enough or even index your pages if it is not mobile-responsive. That’s why I choose Bootstrap 4 for my product. Bootstrap’s grid system is easy to understand and I used w3schools’ bootstrap 4 basic templates to achieve this. Link

w3schools’ bootstrap 4 basic templates

Second Step: Gather images and decide on the color palette

For deciding color palette, I choose an image that I like. I uploaded it to adobe color finder and extracted the HEX codes of the image.

How to extract colors from an image

Adobe color theme from image step 1
Adobe color theme from image step 2

I tried to be loyal to the %60,%30,%10 rule while determining the colors of the elements .%60 of the design is white, %30 is purple, and %10 is green.

These 3 colors combine well with each other and have a special meaning for women. Internationally purple symbolizes women. Furthermore, the combination of purple, green, and white is a symbol of women’s equality. Read my journey while becoming a woman in tech on this link.

How to find royalt-free images

I used pixabay for downloading royalty-free images. There are thousands of images, pictures, vectors, gifs, and videos on that platform. You can even find free SVG files on it.

how to royalty free image step 1
how to royalty free image step 2

How to free host images

To put an image on your site, you need hosting. I used free.image.com to host images.

how to host image step 1
how to host image step 2
how to host image step 3

Here comes ChatGPT

Third Step: Writing HTML and CSS

As I mentioned, I have a little HTML knowledge but not CSS. I used to write style codes inside HTML. And I didn’t do any fancy stuff with CSS before.

I used the w3school bootstrap 4 templates to write the skeleton of my website.

I first started to write style codes on top of the HTML head section but it messed up real quick. So I wanted to make things in order. I asked ChatGPT how to connect a CSS file to an HTML file.

How to connect css to an html file

NAVBAR

I wanted my navbar to be sticky while scrolling down, and allow navigation within sections when the user clicks on nav-bar items. I want to change its colors also.

How to make nav bar sticky
How to navbar scroll
How to change color navbar

ABOUT ME

I want “about me” to be shown on the image for mobile devices, not under. So I asked ChatGPT how to do it. I used an image downloaded from pixabay.

how to use d-mdblock

I want to use icons that lead to my LinkedIn, medium, and GitHub accounts. I asked ChatGPT how to do it and how to connect the font-awesome to HTML code.

How to add social icon to website
how to connect font awesome to html

SERVICES

I wanted to show text when hovering over an image.

how to hover over image and show text

I wanted a responsive font size. I want texts to become smaller when the width of the device is decreased.

How to get responsive font sizes

how to responsive font size

I wanted to have <h> tags with different styles.

how to custom h tag styles

PRODUCT & STUDIES

I wanted to show all details of my work; product description, features, and achievements. It helps people to understand what kind of products you led before. And I led many products and it looked lengthy. I decided to go with a collapse function in Bootstrap 4 with a card deck.

Bootstrap 4 Card-Deck

w3schools’ bootstrap 4 card deck

Bootstrap 4 Collapse Function

w3school collapse example

TOOLS & SKILLS

I choose a carousel to show off which tools I can use. I want to show multiple images at once and I want the carousel height to be fixed.

How to have a carousel showing multiple images

how to display multiple slides with carousel

I wanted to have sticky contact me button which enables users to send me an email.

how to contact me refer to email
how to sticky contact me

I want button styles to be different from each other….

how to style custom buttons

FINAL THOUGHTS

I found ChatGPT useful for developing websites even if you don’t know how to code. If you master technical literature, you will get exact answers on the first attempt. If you don’t, you should explain it in detail.

ChatGPT explains the answers and guides you to customize them. You can not use it as it is but still ChatGPT is really helpful.

You can learn how to code with ChatGPT. I believe that learning how to code is not something that can be learned by spending thousands of dollars and going to the course, but it is something that can be learned by making projects.

Have nice day and ❤ ChatGPT

--

--