My Year Without a Smartphone

The year I switched from an iPhone to a BlackBerry and how I wish I could do it again

Nathan Wilson
4 min readJan 16, 2022
Photo by Štefan Štefančík on Unsplash

In 2016 my phone was taking over my life and I hated it. So, I sold my iPhone 6s and bought a BlackBerry Bold from 2007 with no touch screen and very little app compatibility. Originally, I thought getting a flip phone would be a good idea, but the thought of using a T9 keypad to send text messages scared me away. The BlackBerry made texting easy on its QWERTY keyboard while still restricting the overall functionality of my phone. At the time, it was the perfect compromise allowing me to stay connected without fuelling my phone addiction.

After downgrading I instantly noticed big changes in my life. Listed below are the top three.

1. No navigation

The scariest thing for me was not having access to Google maps. I am not great with directions and one day I found myself lost while exploring the Sydney CBD. Normally Google maps would bail me out, but that was no longer an option with my antiquated BlackBerry.

After three years of living in Sydney, I never noticed the maps signposted along the streets offering helpful directions to pedestrians. Without a GPS to fall back on, I depended on my environment to show me where to go. I developed the habit of asking people for directions and making mental notes of various landmarks and street names. After a while, getting from place to place became second nature as I memorized my environment without depending on the blue line to reveal my path.

2. No entertainment

The BlackBerry was remarkably boring. I didn’t have access to many apps and the user experience felt clunky compared to my old iPhone. When waiting at a bus stop or for my food at a cafe, I stopped getting the impulse to pull out my phone and stare at it. Instead, I spent more time thinking — staring into the void — processing life events and daydreaming about the future. Thinking is the most underrated activity of our time. Taking extended amounts of time to stop and think without Googling an answer to your question will change your life. You might realize, ‘Oh, I’m in the wrong career.’ Or, ‘I would like to start a new hobby as a shoe cobbler.’

With space to think, you might have a moment of clarity — surprising even yourself with the inkling that God is real and present in your life.

Too often technology distracts us from healthy amounts of thinking and reflection. At least it did for me. And I endlessly benefitted from spending close to a year without the ability to distract myself with infinite amounts of entertainment in my pocket.

3. No distractions

Having a smartphone causes your attention to be fragmented. You can never focus on one thing at a time because you are always switching between various trains of thought.

Not carrying a smartphone helped me remain more present with people and important tasks. When I was out, if anyone wanted to contact me, they could text or call — that’s it. I didn’t get a notification every time someone posted on Instagram or Facebook. And the clunky nature of the BlackBerry Gmail app discouraged me from checking my emails. All the extras like email and social media were better handled at home on my laptop allowing me to be more intentional with my time.

Would I do it again?

In 2022 I own more tech than ever. I have two computers, a smartphone, an iPad, and a smartwatch. And I use all of it every day. The exponential growth of technology in the last few years has deepened my dependence on devices more than ever. In 2016 owning a smartphone was helpful but mostly entertaining. Now, having a smartphone is essential. If nothing else, I need it for my job. But it still comes with all the drawbacks that made me despise my iPhone in 2016.

As of January this year, BlackBerry phones are no longer supported. So, putting my sim card in my old BlackBerry as an escape from my iPhone for a few months isn’t an option anymore. Regardless, I am feeling the itch to disconnect from my smartphone once again.

What are my options in 2022?

  1. Deleting most of the apps on my phone
    I tried this once with little success.
  2. Switching to a dumb phone like the Nokia 225 4G
    As long as I never have to send a text message, then sure!
  3. The Light Phone
    This ‘minimalist phone’ looks cool but I don't know if it is a quality product. It could be more of an overpriced gimmick than a practical tool.

I may have to accept that the perfect smartphone replacement does not exist. But if it does, please let me know.

--

--