9 Things To Do When You See Repeating Angel Numbers

Neal A. Bakshi
15 min readJul 29, 2022

--

What’s up with all these repeating numbers I’ve been noticing lately?

If you’ve been noticing repeating numbers (1111, 222, 333, 444, etc), number sequences/palindromic numbers (1001, 1212, 123, 456, 1221, etc), or even specific personally meaningful numbers in your life (birthdays, anniversary days, area codes, house numbers, etc), you are not alone.

Thousands upon thousands of people have been noticing this phenomenon more and more. People from all over the world, different walks of life, varying socioeconomic backgrounds, and differing degrees of spiritual beliefs have taken heed. In fact, the surge in noticing these numbers has been so intense, that Google Trends has shown an exponential increase in the search term “angel numbers” since June 2020, to its near-current peak in early 2022.

Why ‘Angel’ Numbers?

For some, it feels more comfortable to refer to repeating numbers as just that, repeating number sequences. However, my story evolved differently. I started noticing the number patterns after my mom suddenly and unexpectedly passed on two years ago. I used my logical mind along with my intuition to piece together the puzzle from there. I realized that there is so much more happening beyond the physical world I was a part of. My mom was arguably the person I was closest to in my life, and when she passed on, I knew I had a guardian angel watching over me. Over time, I started to receive guidance, insights, and answers to my questions through noticing the numbers.

Some people call the ability to receive these answers their place of inspiration, imagination, or ‘thinkatation’. Others call this guidance from outside of them their ancestors, angels, higher self, or spirit guides. Regardless of what you believe, everyone has the ability to recognize and notice these signs and numbers to communicate with the infinite source of energy, guidance, and wisdom in their lives. It’s the creative life force that flows through everything and everyone; it ties the biggest and smallest pieces of our lives together with meaning. For me, the numbers represent angel numbers because of the shared form of communication I cultivated with my mom on the Other Side through them. As such, I refer to them as angel numbers. For you, this may be different.

Why Are Repeating Numbers So Interesting?

Before we jump into what exactly repeating (or angel) numbers are, let’s touch on why they’re such a statistically significant event when we notice them.

A clock is usually their most frequent place of reference.

There are 1,440 minutes in a day. If someone were to notice the number 2:22 on the clock, there would be a 0.07% chance of noticing that time in any given minute of the day.

This assumes that most people are asleep during the other instances of the number on a 12-hour clock (i.e. 1:11, 2:22, 3:33, 4:44, 5:55) in the early morning. Even if someone were awake that early, the generic probability of noticing the number is still less than 0.14%, a miniscule fraction of 1 percent.

What are Repeating Angel Numbers?

The term Angel Number is used to describe number sequences, patterns, or personally meaningful numbers that seem to arise synchronistically in one’s life, often with noticeable frequency. According to respected authors, therapists, and spiritual teachers around the world, it is a sign of spiritual awareness and communication from a higher source, or otherworldly beings (angels, spirit guides). The messages, signs, and symbols often become apparent to one’s consciousness as they experience spiritual expansion and growth in their lives.

While angel numbers are the most common, other signs that your spirit guides are trying to reach you include noticing feathers, rainbows (refracted through mirrors, lights, glass), butterflies, sparkles of light, buzzing or tingling in the ears, vivid dreams, and spontaneously hearing a meaningful song, among others.

Over the course of the past two years since my mom passed on, angel numbers and various other signs became so apparent in my life it was almost impossible not to notice them.

  • I would go for runs in the early morning and see 5–10 feathers on the ground each day
  • I would look at the time whenever the clock turned to a repeating, mirror, palindromic, or personally meaningful number (my area code, house number I grew up at, current apartment building number, my birthday)
  • I would notice rainbows refracted through glass while simply sitting at my desk at work (sometimes in tandem with a repeating number on the clock)
  • I would somehow always seem to have a message expressed to me through a random Spotify song on shuffle when I needed to hear it
  • I would have vivid and memorable dreams that led me to chronicling a dream journal on a nightly basis and researching the symbolism the next morning

The feelings and phenomena increased with frequency and intensity the more I noticed them and celebrated noticing them. I’m a logical-thinking, left-brained person who has worked with numbers my entire life. From majoring in economics in college to working as an investment banker for my career, I take my numbers seriously.

I started noticing the numbers on license plates, building addresses, flight numbers/departure times, sidewalk graffiti, distance/arrival time to a destination on the GPS, weather temperature numbers, totals on my dinner receipts, the sides of trucks driving by in New York City, my Venmo balance, phone numbers, the number of Instagram comments or likes on a post, gas station signs, my Apple Health step counter, the treadmill or bike during workouts, and on financial price moves on CNBC and my Bloomberg terminal.

After months of brushing them off as coincidence in late 2020, I could no longer avoid the symbolism staring me in the face at every corner of my daily life.

I voraciously sifted through Google articles and numerology sites to discern a meaning or a framework to follow. As the weeks and months wore on in 2021, I began to get a better grasp of what I was experiencing and why.

By the spring of that year, I started looking at shop windows and seeing specific written signs of things I was thinking about being reflected back at me (a mother’s day sale, reminders about taking care of myself, motivational phrases, things I had been putting off).

As things progressed still, I decided to experiment and ask for specific signs. One spring day, I asked to see a tall man with dark hair wearing a blue baseball cap on the PATH train platform. I was going from NYC to Hoboken and thought this was obscure enough to request as I left my apartment. Sure enough, 20 minutes later out of only 10 people taking the train at that time, there was a man with jet black hair wearing a blue baseball cap.

Another example is that one morning I went for a run and asked, “how can I be more confident?” As I got a mile and a half in, I saw a motivational message written out in chalk on the running path from the day before. It read out, “You got this, keep going!”

Each time in disbelief I would text my sister and brother-in-law with the signs the Universe was giving me. It was fantastical to imagine such strong synchronicities were being divinely guided to me. With hundreds of experiences such as these over the past two years, my well of spiritual faith deepened substantially. I began to trust in the intelligence of all that is around me as the right clients were guided into my life, my coaching practice grew, and my path was telling me to be in service to others.

Interestingly, without prompting, my clients eventually even opened up about the synchronistic experiences which led to start working with me in the first place. All of this only went to compound my belief in an intelligent force at work beyond my wildest comprehension.

I began to release the vice grip I had on the handlebars of my life. I started to make space for meaning and synchronicity to fill in the spaces between the fence posts of life events I envisioned for myself. The feeling was freeing and always led to my most benevolent outcome — no matter if it was the outcome I had imagined for myself or not.

Recognizing and acknowledging the angel (repeating) numbers was a catalyst for my spiritual progression, deepening self-trust, interest into numerology, and investigation into what other symbols lay hidden in plain sight.

A Brief History of Numerology

You probably remember learning about the Pythagorean theorem in middle school math class. Interestingly, Pythagoras, a Greek philosopher and mathematician who thrived in the 6th Century B.C.E., is also considered to be the ‘Father of Numerology.’ Pythagoras said that everything in the Universe is mathematically precise, and that each number has its own vibration and meaning. Therefore, the placement of the numbers in a sequence also holds special meaning. Pythagoras’ principles were so widely accepted that they went on to influence the thought of Plato and Aristotle. More notably, they also contributed to the mathematics and Western philosophy we use to this day.

Numerology can be defined as the science of numbers. It is a tool used to introspect and investigate yourself. It can also help to guide your life situation and to better understand others. Through learning about the science of numbers all around you in your daily life, you bring to light your highest potential on the physical, emotional, mental, and spiritual planes.

Numerology can also give you insight into your natural talents. Each number corresponds to a different planet in the solar system, letter in the alphabet, and an innate vibration. When you see certain numbers, it can therefore give you a better understanding of what you might be feeling or energetically experiencing. Offshoots of numerology even provide deeper meaning behind your name, birthday, and life path.

What To Do When You See Angel Numbers

Angel numbers have become such an integral (and fun) part of my day that I have now trained my mind to keep an eye out for them. As such, they now stick out to me whenever I look at numbers in my daily life.

After practicing, researching, and intuiting the meaning of angel numbers for the past two years, I’ve come to realize why they’re so important to me and what I should be doing when I see them. The below are just a few things you can do when you see these repeating number sequences. Have fun with it, play around with your own understanding, and see what other things you garner from noticing them.

1. Slow Down

Life is SO busy. Your routines and habits may have become ingrained in you to almost a robotic extent. From the second you wake up, you are often go-go-go from one task to the next. An example could be: get ready for work, grab breakfast, commute, immerse yourself in your job all day, go home, take care of the kids, make dinner, find a few minutes to wind down, hit the hay, rinse and repeat.

Most people move too fast to notice the symbolism and signs happening around them at all times. And understandably so — we all have expectations for ourselves and from others. However, living slowly with conscious intent opens you up to the magic happening around you at every moment. Fun fact: that’s also the lesson of the crown chakra — to live in the present moment.

2. Remember the Meaning of Your Life

This is a natural progression from slowing down, but when you notice angel numbers, take a moment to connect to the deepest parts of you. Your heart and soul. Think about why you were fortunate enough to notice a specific number (with a 0.07% chance on a clock), which incited meaning in you enough to recognize the pattern. It’s not a coincidence, but rather something you were urged to take note of.

My own personal belief is that we were not only put here to go through the motions of working, making and spending money, procreating, and dying. I believe there is a deeper reason for us to be here, which is to learn, grow, create, and love. As individuals, communities, souls, and singular consciousness.

3. Reminder of Divine Intelligence

Without getting overly philosophical, if we believe we are here for more — to find our purpose, serve others, share our gifts and talents, enjoy the beauty of everything around us, create, love, learn, evolve, and have fun and enjoyment throughout it all — then we owe it to ourselves to remind us of that. Angel numbers are a sign of remembrance of the deeper intelligence, higher powers, and otherworldly energies which creates the interwoven fabric of our three dimensional world.

4. Practice Gratitude

Every time I see an angel number I stop for a brief moment, close my eyes, even for a blink, and consciously think or say, “thank you.” Doing this amplifies my gratitude practice and keeps gratitude for everything in my life top of mind. It also has the beneficial corollary of always improving my mood, due to the serotonin and oxytocin that’s released as a result of gratitude.

I use the numbers as a method of communication — with my mom on the Other Side, and other angel/spirit guides who seem to direct my life path. Showing gratitude for the ability to still feel my mom’s presence and release into trust is the least I can do. Gratitude and sentient recognition of the signs I receive have interestingly opened new avenues of communication with my angel guides (words, objects, songs, etc). I have also experienced greater and increased synchronicity in my life as a result (meeting new people, having unexpected/new experiences).

5. Come Back Into the Present Moment

The present is a gift. When you are able to fully tap into it, you get a glimpse of what spiritual greats have advised over eons. The present is the only moment there is. In the present, the incessant race of thoughts causing anxiety about the future or preoccupation with the past dissolves away. You are fully immersed in the here and now. Noticing these signs and symbols provides you a window into this magical position (here) and moment (now).

6. Tap Into Your Intuition

Intuition follows from being completely present. When you are fully present in your body, you are able to tap into the invisible energy within yourself. It’s energy which isn’t seen by all, but can be felt by all. This is the same energy which gives you gut feelings about right or wrong choices. It’s the same energy which allows you to tune into your intuition and receive guidance from your higher self. When you consciously take note of an angel number, you are tapped into the broader energetic field which you are a part of. This field operates within your body and also outside of it. In this moment, you are present and able to clear away the noise of external stimuli and thoughts. You can then ask for and receive guidance from your intuition and angel guides.

7. Be Mindful of Your Thoughts or Circumstances

When you see the number, think about the thought you were having right as you saw it. What was on your mind? Recall that thought, listen to it, understand it, and analyze it. Maybe it’s a thought about needing to go home and study for an exam instead of watching Netflix. Maybe it’s a thought about needing to check in on a friend who has been strangely quiet recently. Maybe it was a negative spiral of fear or anxiety you were experiencing. Whatever it is, examine it closely because there is more to unpack there. It could be leading you in a certain direction, asking you to evaluate a situation, or release negative thoughts and belief patterns. Similarly, take note of the circumstance or situation you are in at that moment. Where are you, what are you doing, or where are you going? There may be insights or guidance as it relates to your physical situation and setting.

8. Repeat a Positive Affirmation or Mantra

When I see the signs and number patterns, I associate some of them with meaningful guidance for my life situation. They have become triggers and reminders of the meanings behind the number sequence. For example, when I see 222, I’ll say to myself, “I am exactly where I need to be right now.” When I see 444, I’ll say, “I am protected.” When I see 1111, I will think about what I am manifesting.

9. Ask Your Angels for Guidance

If you see a number and you have no idea what it means, ask your angels or spirit guides what they are trying to tell you. See what comes into your mind. When you see angel numbers it’s a sign that you are closely aligned and in tune with the spiritual world and energetic frequencies of that realm. Your angel guides are close to you and here to help you on your path and purpose to fulfill your life mission, but can only do so with your direct request. They cannot interfere with your free will, but can help when you ask for it. If you want to know more, straight up ask them why they’re coming to you now! Also ask them for the support and help you need in your life, so they can open doors of guidance and synchronicity for you.

It may sound obvious, but when you see these signs and symbolism from the spiritual world, think about what you want to happen, not what you don’t want to happen or are avoiding happening to you. The latter is a fear-based approach which is not usually acted on, from my personal experience.

The signs I have been able to cultivate with the vast and intelligent Universe around me has brought me into deep states of gratitude. I know that it’s possible for everyone to cultivate their own language through numbers, with angels, spirit guides, and the benevolent Universe at large. While these are the takeaways I’ve garnered from numerologists (Joanne Sacred Scribes, Numerologist, Moon Omens, other teachers) and my own intuition, I want to share arguably the most important aspect of angel numbers with you.

Different numbers mean different things to different people. While we all may innately be one, we are all individual fingers attached to the same hand. Your method of communication may be different than mine, which may be different than your best friend or family member. Just like any language, it’s important to cultivate your own style, usage, and understanding of it. What works for me, may not always work for you, and that’s okay.

The moral of the story is that the life force that works within you to effortlessly allow you to breathe and digest also pervades the unseen energy world around you. Feel free to use my insights and repeating angel number decoder as a guide, but remember to forge your own path and two-way communication with your angels and spirit guides.

With conscious intent, practice, and presence, you too can create a language with loved ones who have crossed over. On the other hand, if angels or spirit guides don’t resonate with your beliefs, use the repeating sequences to cultivate deeper self-trust, intuition, decision-making, and guidance from the creative energy around you. Always know that you are always guided and protected.

Follow me on Instagram for the full release of the Angel Number Decoder over the coming days!

Be the first to receive these angelic insights directly to your inbox. Subscribe here to the free newsletter!

Neal Bakshi is a Spiritual Life Coach & Reiki Energy Healer based in New York City. He spent nearly a decade on Wall Street, climbing the ranks to Vice President in Investment Banking at Goldman Sachs. His vision is to help corporate hustlers find inner peace and lasting success through the power of spirituality.
Learn more at
www.nealbakshi.com or on Instagram @neal.bakshi

Originally published at https://www.nealbakshi.com on July 29, 2022.

--

--

Neal A. Bakshi

Goldman Sachs Investment Banking Vice President turned Angel Medium, Spiritual Guide, Energy Healer and best-selling author.