My First Experience in Decentraland

Robert Hoogendoorn
Play to Earn
Published in
6 min readFeb 24, 2020

--

In this holiday report I would like to tell you everything about my first experience in Decentraland and the events and challenges I participated in. Decentraland is a virtual world powered by the Ethereum blockchain. Players own land, and can build their own games, houses and puzzles. In addition everybody is allowed to monetize their land. Let’s see how much fun this is!

Last week the virtual world of Decentraland was opened to the public. Anybody can login to Decentraland by connecting their Metamask browser-wallet to the game. I decided to quickly buy 100 MANA through Shapeshift, and register my very own user name. “Nederob” just look a lot better than “Guest 34B-25C”. This won’t be an easy process for those who aren’t familiar with crypto. Anyway, after creating my own avatar I was ready to journey into a virtual world full of creativity.

My first steps…

Truth been told. Decentraland felt empty. I’ve participated in launch events from MMORPGs like World of Warcraft and The Lord of the Rings…

--

--

Robert Hoogendoorn
Play to Earn

Metaverse citizen, Web3 enthusiast, NFT collector. Learning about blockchain every day, sharing my knowledge and passion. Head of Content at DappRadar