Smart Apps That Don’t Need A Smartphone

Neeraj Grover
3 min readAug 20, 2017

--

Last week my phone died, I haven’t got a new one since yet and I’ll admit it’s been a little disquiet in my daily routine ever since. Though, I’m kinda getting used to it now.

Losing my smartphone made me found out the web version of the following apps and it has been a revelation of some sort, the following are my favorite of the bunch.

Simplenote

I love Simplenote. It’s cross platform, I use it on Mac, Windows & Android. It’s super light, notes are searchable with tags. The best feature is you can share the note with someone by just adding their e-mail in the tags.

I found out the app had a web version and things has been so easy since then. At the office, if I want to make a quick note about something I just open up the web version and it’s done.

Splitwise

I live with two other flatmates, we share expenses and I haven’t found a better platform other than Splitwise to do the deed. Last week, I did the grocery shopping and had the expenses saved in a note so as to log into the app as soon as I get a new smartphone.

I googled splitwise just in case if they had a web version to their app and not only they have a web app it’s much superior than their phone app.

It’s minimalistic, does everything the apps does and the big screen is a relief.

Ola Cabs

Ola Cabs is a direct rival to Uber in India.

Booking cabs for daily commute was a pain in the ass without the smartphone. I looked online to book a cab and Uber didn’t work so Ola was the way to go. Smooth, hassle-free booking.

Ever since I moved out of my home and started using these cabs services I initially used Uber since it had better customer service and better rates, though this past year Uber has dropped off quite a lot.

  • Ola app is faster than Uber app on mid-range smartphones.
  • Ola Money is a better option than PayTM now since you don’t have to have a minimum credit and it can also be used at quite a few merchants these days.
  • Ola supports Autos which are readily available and much cheaper and better option for shorter rides.
  • Ola pricing has been better than Uber for a while now.
  • Ola offers Prime Play which is a great experience for long rides.

P.S Their customer service still sucks though.

Coolors

I use Coolors a lot on my phone and didn’t really know it had a fully functioning web app.

Coolors is probably the most easiest and coolest way to create a color palette and you can also apply filters to test how color blind people see your color scheme.

I’’ll add more apps to this list as I find more.

--

--