Installing older version of kubernetes-helm with brew (Downgrading helm)

Neha Gupta
2 min readDec 9, 2019

--

There might be many reason you may need to downgrade the helm installation version or install a specific version.

Some of the examples are :

  1. Output of helm version: client - v2.x.x, server v2.y.y.
    Output of kubectl version: client :- v1.x.x, server:- v1.y.y
  2. Other reason could be using service like jenkins-x which apparently doesn’t support helm3.

So, follow these simple steps to get the specific version of helm installed.

Then run the following command once you have the url for the correct kubernetes-helm.rb file

$ brew unlink kubernetes-helm
$ brew install https://raw.githubusercontent.com/Homebrew/homebrew-core/78d64252f30a12b6f4b3ce29686ab5e262eea812/Formula/kubernetes-helm.rb
$ brew switch kubernetes-helm 2.9.1

Hope this helps someone.

Btw going off-topic for all quarantined office people,

Recently, I switched from iOS to Android. And I was missing Apple’s Continuity feature. Where I could easily make or receive phone calls on Mac, get access OTPs, messages quickly on my Mac.

I noticed I was ending up landing social media or hacker-news :D spending hours every-time I picked up my phone for a call(there’re a lot in this work from home situation).

And then after spending a day, going through a lot of spam! I noticed this app on App Store called “Connecton”. I’m surprised why was it hard to find it.

Putting out loud, so that I can save someone’s time who needs this.

https://apps.apple.com/in/app/connecton/id1497000705?mt=12

--

--

Neha Gupta

Looking for Product Management Job | Former SDE2 @Lenskart Special Projects | Former Openlab Researcher @CERN | @Google SoC-CI & Outreachy Mentor | Speaker