Zoom problems with Catalina MacOS Screen share Permissions

Neha Gupta
2 min readDec 17, 2019

--

I spent quite sometime figuring this out, and the problem was sooo silly and simple.

Writing this so that no other people have to waste time on this.

Problem I was facing :

When I tried to share my screen with Zoom it asked for screen sharing permissions. You’ll see something like this :

And when you open the system preferences and navigate to screen sharing permissions, Zoom app is not in the list (If you see it, voila! you’re lucky, just enable it and go go… ). Like this :

What you have to do in this situation is a VERY BASIC and SIMPLE STEP : UPDATE THE APP!!! Voila!

You can thank me later.. ;)

Btw going off-topic for all quarantined office people,

Recently, I switched from iOS to Android. And I was missing Apple’s Continuity feature. Where I could easily make or receive phone calls on Mac, get access OTPs, messages quickly on my Mac.

I noticed I was ending up landing social media or hacker-news :D spending hours every-time I picked up my phone for a call(there’re a lot in this work from home situation).

And then after spending a day, going through a lot of spam! I noticed this app on App Store called “Connecton”. I’m surprised why was it hard to find it.

Putting out loud, so that I can save someone’s time who needs this.

https://apps.apple.com/in/app/connecton/id1497000705?mt=12

--

--

Neha Gupta

Looking for Product Management Job | Former SDE2 @Lenskart Special Projects | Former Openlab Researcher @CERN | @Google SoC-CI & Outreachy Mentor | Speaker