Winter Morning Skin Care Routine

Neha Kaushal
3 min readJan 4, 2020

--

Hello Readers!

I hope you all are doing great. Its winter and in winter we need to change our skincare routine as our skin reacts differently in different seasons. In summer, our skin becomes oily and in winter, our skin becomes dry. It’s always good to use natural ingredients for our skincare but we should know what ingredients we should use and what ingredients we must avoid in a particular season. Here I am sharing my honest winter morning skincare routine with you in three simple steps.

Cleaning

Every morning I clean my face with a paste of gram flour(1 tbs) and turmeric(a pinch) but in winters, my skin becomes dry so, I add curd(1 tbs) or milk(1 tbs) and honey(½ tbs) in this paste as these are moisture giving ingredients. I apply this paste on my face, wait for 5 minutes and then wash my face with warm water. In winters, always use ground flour with some moisturizing ingredients otherwise your skin will become more dry and rough.

Toning

After washing my face I apply rose water and glycerin toner on my face. This toner does wonder on my skin. It softens and moisturizes the skin and decreases dryness and itching. You can easily make this toner at home. Take a spray bottle, add 1½ cups of rose water and 1/4th cup of glycerin into it and your toner is ready. This ratio of rose water and glycerin can be varied depending upon how dry and rough your skin is.

After washing my face I apply rose water and glycerin toner on my face. This toner does wonder on my skin. It softens and moisturizes the skin and decreases dryness and itching. You can easily make this toner at home. Take a spray bottle, add 1½ cups of rose water and 1/4th cup of glycerin into it and your toner is ready. This ratio of rose water and glycerin can be varied depending upon how dry and rough your skin is.

Moisturizing

After spraying toner, I apply Lakme peach milk moisturizer on my face and then in the last I apply Lakme sunscreen on my face. You can use any moisturizer and sunscreen that suits your skin.

Ingredients that I avoid in winter are:

  • Lemon must not be used in winter because it is extremely acidic in nature, which is not preferable to treat dry skin.
  • Fullers Earth removes excessive oil from your skin. It’s application on dry skin may cause irritation and itching.
  • Rice flour can leave your skin dry as it contains high contents of starch.
  • Potatoes also make your skin more dry and stretched because of their high starch content.

Disclaimer: The opinions expressed in this post are my personal opinions and should NOT be considered as professional advice. Always consult a professional before applying anything on your skin.

--

--

Neha Kaushal

My name is Neha Kaushal and I am the author of angelsbeautyblog. In my blogs I share beauty tips that are more natural and very easy to follow.