From Statistician to Pythonista: A 100-Day Programming Challenge

Neha Pathan
2 min readMar 22, 2023

--

Hello everyone,

Today, I am excited to announce that I am starting a 100-day Python programming challenge. As a statistician, I understand the importance of programming skills in data analysis, machine learning, and statistics. Python is one of the most popular programming languages in these fields, and it is essential for me to master it.

I have set this challenge for myself to improve my Python skills and gain more experience in programming. In the next 100 days, I will be dedicating a significant amount of time to learn and practice Python programming. I have set specific goals for each week, and I will be sharing my progress with you through this blog.

My first week will be focused on Python basics, such as data types, loops, functions, and conditional statements. I will be using various resources such as books, online tutorials, and practice exercises to strengthen my foundation in Python.

In the second week, I will be learning about data structures such as lists, tuples, sets, and dictionaries. These are essential data types in Python, and I will be practicing them through coding challenges and real-world examples.

In the third week, I will be diving deeper into Python libraries such as NumPy and Pandas. These libraries are fundamental in data analysis, and I will be using them to perform data manipulation, exploration, and visualization tasks.

In the fourth week, I will be learning about object-oriented programming (OOP) concepts such as classes, objects, inheritance, and polymorphism. OOP is a crucial paradigm in Python, and it will help me in writing efficient and reusable code.

In the fifth week, I will be exploring the popular machine learning library, scikit-learn. I will be learning about machine learning algorithms such as linear regression, logistic regression, decision trees, and random forests.

In the sixth week, I will be focusing on deep learning concepts and the TensorFlow library. I will be learning about neural networks, convolutional neural networks, and recurrent neural networks.

In the final weeks, I will be practicing my Python skills through various projects such as data analysis, machine learning, and statistics. I will be using real-world datasets and solving problems that are relevant to my field of expertise.

I am excited about this challenge and the opportunity to improve my programming skills. I believe that this challenge will not only enhance my technical skills but also help me in becoming a better statistician.

I invite you to follow my progress through this blog, and I hope that my journey inspires you to take up your own programming challenge. Thank you for reading, and I will see you soon with my first week’s update!

--

--

Neha Pathan

I am a Statistician and a postgraduate student undertaking a Masters in Statistics (Big Data Analytics). www.linkedin.com/in/neha-pathan-3a09311b0