Why find purpose in life?

Neha Nahata
3 min readFeb 6, 2024

--

I have a deep sense of purpose in life, and that is why I feel like waking up and living a meaningful life. I believe everyone has a purpose in life be it taking care of their family, serving their country in every possible way, making inspirational art, or creating change in people’s life.

Having a purpose in life is important because it is associated with having better health, longevity, and economic success. Research shows that people with a strong sense of purpose live longer, with reduced risk of chronic disease, and happen to be more psychologically resilient in life.

I met a lady who was 60, while talking to her I asked what inspires her to work at this age, and she said I want to work till my mind and body are supportive because once you cross a certain age illness will take you where it will. She sets a perfect example of knowing the purpose of life and how it helped her stay healthy and independent even at 60.

The other day I realized seeing my mom taking care of us, supporting us in every situation, and doing beyond her limits, I asked the same question what inspires her to do all this for us, she said this is the purpose of my life I want to see you grow, I want to support and help my family in every possible way that keeps me alive and happy. I don’t feel tired of doing anything for my family, even for others around us. I like adding value to people’s lives and being kind and helpful to others that is what my life means to me. This brought my attention to the question of what my life means to me and the purpose I am living my life.

I have been like my mother, who likes to be kind and helpful to family and people around me. I have role models in my life who inspire me to know my best self and my strength, and I learned to take criticism as an opportunity to improve and appreciation from others helps me to know myself in a better way. Practicing gratitude helps in binding my emotions for my family’s well-being, and care about others, this helped me find meaning and purpose in life and focus on how I can better contribute to the community I live in.

These are a few pointers that help me know my purpose in life:

  1. Know yourself
  2. Look for people who inspire you
  3. Know what people appreciate in you
  4. Incorporate positive mindset
  5. Practice gratitude

The purpose of everyone's life may differ from person to person, it may be simple, and free but it doesn’t come easily to everyone. One has to learn to know the purpose of their life. Most of us long for a purposeful life and spend days thinking and behaving in a way that doesn’t contribute to our sense of meaning in life. The idea of purpose in life mostly comes from the family or the community we grow in.

That is why we need to understand purpose isn’t what happens to us. It is something that we can consciously develop in our life.

Purpose gives you a sense of direction and stability even in difficult times, that is why having a purpose is necessary for a happy and healthier life.

Thanks for reading.

--

--

Neha Nahata

"I'm here to share self-improvement practices that will help you grow in life. Join me on this journey toward a better you."