ChatGPT for Developers: How to Comment and Refactor Your Code and Generate README Files

Michael King
6 min readJan 25, 2023

Welcome to my article on how to use ChatGPT to comment and refactor your code, as well as how to generate README files. As a developer, I understand the importance of well-written and organized code, as well as the need for clear and informative documentation. That’s why I’m excited to share with you how ChatGPT can assist in these tasks, making your workflow more efficient and effective.

Midjourney prompted by Michael King

In this article, I will walk you through the steps of using ChatGPT to comment and refactor your code, and show you how to generate comprehensive README files. By the end of this article, you will have a better understanding of how ChatGPT can help you improve your coding skills and make your projects more user-friendly. So, let’s get started!

As a passionate coder, I often find myself lost in my work and coding for hours on end, unable to pull myself away from the computer. While this intense drive and focus can be incredibly productive, it does have its downsides. One of which is that my code can sometimes lack comments, making it difficult for others (or even myself) to understand later on.

This is where I thought to put ChatGPT to the test and ask it to help me comment my messy code. For this example, I used an application code for a Art Style Prompt

--

--

Michael King

💫DevOps Pro & AI Junkie🤖 5X Awarded Writer 🏆 🤖🖼️🎨📚📖 👉 Midjourney AI: Automation Bot (with Privacy Mode)! ⬇️ https://kingmichael.gumroad.com/l/ewuso