G Suite rejected my subscription. Guess why!

Srix
2 min readMay 15, 2019

--

I have been a long term Google G Suite user and like that product. Recently I was creating an account for a new domain and was rejected with a peculiar reason.

When I tried setting up the G Suite email account for a business domain RoadSenseAI.com , G Suite threw a weird error “Sorry, We’ve got dibs on that one.” and didn’t allow me to proceed. I didn’t find any details on the internet. So raised a support ticket with Google.

Sorry, We’ve got dibs on that one.

I received a prompt call from Google support shortly. The support personnel was himself surprised at the error message and politely put me on hold for 15 minutes. When he resumed the call, he gave me a peculiar reason and said it was not possible to subscribe to G Suite with this domain name. For a moment I thought it was ridiculous. So asked him to send a mail with the reason.

Thank you for answering my call.

I understand that you’re trying to sign up for G Suite using the domain name roadsenseai.com and you’re getting the following error message: “Sorry, we’ve got dibs on that one!”

You will not be able to register with that domain name as Google has a program named AdSense and your domain has the word “adsense”. I hope that I was helpful by clarifying this to you.

Since there are no further actions that our team is able to take to further assist you I will close this case.

Have a lovely rest of the week!

This was a complete disappointment for me. I enquired about the process to escalate or appeal, hoping G Suite will approve on case by case basis on such situations. Unfortunately, I was told, no such process exists.

My guess is Google is paranoid about Domain squatting and similar techniques impacting their AdSense product and rejecting all domains containing the AdSense product name.

I am sharing this so, if anybody getting “Sorry, We’ve got dibs on that one.” will be aware of the reason and not waste time on figuring out the root cause. Also hoping that Google may take this as feedback and have a special case by case approval rather sweepingly rejecting all such domains.

--

--