“This is where I have jumped in with both feet”

NETM8KR
3 min readNov 29, 2016

--

Cassettes have resurfaced into my life. After a long hiatus, I find myself back in a creative relationship with tapes. As most people my age will tell you, I grew up making plenty of “pause” and mix-tapes. Now as a much older adult, I find myself returning to a format once considered left for dead.

Over the years, I have become this prolific, yet somewhat introverted music producer. Creating this persona amongst online communities as a “different” type of producer/beat-maker. Choosing to call my style of music “random sound explorations” or “vibes”. All while never releasing any music for the public.

As of 2016, I have found myself submersed into the underground community called “cassette culture”. A community of devoted creatives, who prefer to release their artistry on cassettes. Most of these artist, I find have their works using the best of both old & new technology. While they prefer to record their music to tapes, they also release that music online for downloads, and streaming. A great way to get new music out to the masses, and generate funds to support their artistry.

This is where I find myself. I have been known to have loads of recorded tracks, that have never been released to the public. Well, I find that tapes allow me to give new life to those old works. Being able to offer my own creations in an affordable format is great. I control how many copies are created to offer for purchase. Cassettes can be made in small batches or fairly large runs. You are only limited by the supplies you have available, and the resources to get the music on the tapes.

This is where I have jumped in with both feet. Over the past 6–7 months, I have amassed enough equipment in my home studio to start my own indie cassette label. With plans to offer tape duplication services as well. Going at this with the mindset, “Everyone needs to be heard, here is a way”. I have documented my creative journey on Instagram for those who care to follow along. Here is where you will find me.

I quickly set a goal to release my own music as the first project. Giving myself about 3 months to make it happen. I set a release date for Thanksgiving Day 2016. Well, as that day just recently passed. I met my goal, and released my first official project. The project actually inspired the name of my indie label “SONIC PLANET”. Which can be purchased online here. There you will find, I have also made “Limited Edition” cassettes available for this project.

Feel free to follow me along my musical journey, as I plan to document it on this “Medium”, and social media. SUPPORT INDIE ARTISTS!!!

Peace…Netm8kr

--

--

NETM8KR

I am a music fan, collector, and producer. An arranger of strange noises. Otherwise a mild-mannered geek.