What I’ve done at the 2022 Global Youth Trends Forum?

Eric (Netscape) 張緯麒
4 min readNov 3, 2022

--

Hi, I’m one of the youths participating in this forum, Eric. If you also attended, then you may have an impression of a Podcast Guy?

Yes, that’s me!

Today I will share about what I’ve done in those two days.

🎧: EP34 | My Journey at the 2022 Global Youth Trends Forum

The general process in the whole forum

There will be a theme forum in the morning of the two days.

On the first day, guests such as the Founder of Minerva University, Teri, and the Minister of Digital Affairs, Audrey Tang, shared their thoughts and suggestions for future generations. On the second day, the elite seniors who are fighting in the front line of the industry, such as CEO of iKala, Sega, Founder of PTT, Ethan Tu, etc., shared what they have implemented through emerging technologies.

In the afternoon, there was a world cafe where young people from all over the world discussed and shared their thoughts.

For example, on the first day I participated in the discussion on the topic of Imaging digital life, and on the second day I participated in the discussion on the topic of the future workplace.

Next I will share, so what about me?

What did I do in the forum?

After listening to the sharing of Teri, the founder of Minerva University, I began to write a letter about myself, my podcast, and an invitation to Teri for an interview.

After the morning event, I stopped Teri as she was about to leave and gave her a brief elevator briefing explaining my motives and hand-delivering letters.

To my great surprise, in addition to accepting the letter, Teri agreed to my Linkedin friend invitation in the afternoon and even replied to my message after the forum!

After listening to the CEO of iKala, Sega’s sharing and QA with him,

I once again demonstrated the ability to design an interview rundown immediately after listening to the lecture, and designed a discussion on iKala and the trend of vertical browsers.

Before Sega was about to leave the forum, I stopped him and handed him the rundown and expressed my desire to interview him. I’m so proud that Sega accepted my interview request and even took a photo with me!

In addition to meeting the guests who came to the forum to share, I shared on stage several times to express my thoughts on the topics discussed.

On the topic of digital life imagination,

I shared my belief that the sound medium will occupy a very important position in the future generations, because it is not imitable and everyone’s voice has its own characteristics; at the same time, it also has scene creativity without time and geographical constraints, the audience can focus on the content they listen to and as if they are in a real scene, which can be effectively used in the metaverse, such as the podcast I am running now.

On the topic of imagining the future of the workplace,

I shared that I think the necessary skills are to find existing problems and create non-traditional but innovative solutions.

In terms of the future workplace, I put forward the idea of ​​three fields:

The first one is home, such as software development and maintenance work of engineers, administrative process planning or internal company meetings can be done at home.

The second is companies and factories. In addition to the need for maintainers in the development and production of hardware under the premise of automation and artificial intelligence, with the rise of the cloud industry, each cloud company still needs space to place the servers that drive the operation. And the company can’t disappear because it still needs a space to provide project managers who come to help solve problems, sales and BD who come to talk about cooperation.

The third is the client side. As mentioned above, the two positions of sales and BD still need to go to the client when discussing cooperation or selling products, because many elements are difficult to meet online; and project managers often need to stand on the client side to help them solve problems, the idea came from a previous visit to KC who is currently a project manager at Microsoft.

Last but not least, I talked about the two major problems I have observed in current career education as a Taiwanese student: it is difficult to clearly understand the real face of the workplace and what kind of soft and hard skills each position requires. At the same time, I also share the efforts I am working on, that is,

I created “CorgiTech” to build a workplace metaverse of the sound world through Podcasts.

The above is what I’ve done at the 2022 Global Youth Trends Forum.

Author: Eric (Netscape) 張緯麒

--

--