Who I’ve met and what I’ve learned at the 2022 Global Youth Trends Forum?

Eric (Netscape) 張緯麒
4 min readNov 3, 2022

--

Hi, I’m one of the youths participating in this forum, Eric. If you also attended, then you may have an impression of a Podcast Guy?

Yes, that’s me!

Today I will share about Who I’ve met and what I’ve learned in it.

🎧: EP34 | My Journey at the 2022 Global Youth Trends Forum

Who I’ve met?

The first person that impressed me the most was Grigory from Armenia,

who is currently studying at the University of Minerva. I met him at the World Cafe in the afternoon of the first day, and we were divided into the same group to discuss the imagination of digital life. Before the two-day forum ended, we discussed a lot, whether it was sharing each other’s college life, insights on forum topics, or even what food in each country is worth trying! The happiest thing is that Grigory said that before he left Taiwan, he wanted to share some of his experiences and thoughts on my Podcast channel, which surprised me!

Here I would like to say to Grigory, if I have the opportunity to travel to Armenia, I must try the food you mentioned — wrapped in grape leaves and eaten together!

Anthony, who is from Indonesia and is currently coming to NTU for exchange,

has a wealth of experience in internship and data science practice even though he is only a senior. I admire him very much!

Desti, who is from Indonesia and is currently studying at NTUST like me,

mentioned a digital life phenomenon in Indonesia that impressed me in the discussion: “Young people are mostly using TikTok, while middle-aged and elderly people are using Facebook. “

Rany from Egypt,

hopes that his future life can be far away from all electronic products and the Internet. This idea comes from his personal experience in Egypt: “As long as you are far away from the city, it is difficult to have a stable power supply, and the use of the Internet will be very difficult too.” I feel the same way about this phenomenon, because it is difficult for some rural areas in Taiwan to have stable power and network supply.

Asma from Tanzania,

in addition to taking the stage on behalf of the country to share the current situation and experience she has seen in her home country on the topic of the forum, she shared some thoughts focusing on my podcast during the chat that I am very affirmed: During the period of studying in Taiwan, she also noticed that Taiwanese students are really not so active in their future planning, and believes that the efforts I am making will definitely help them!

You Liang Lu, who is from Taiwan

and is currently studying at the Graduate School of NTNU. Besides being a student, he also serves as a part-time physics teacher. I agree with him when he shares the problems of education in Taiwan: “On campus, if teachers over retirement age do not give the next generation of new teachers a chance, the promotion of flipped education and learning journeys will always be just a slogan.”

In addition to the friends mentioned above,

I also met a lot of young people from Taiwan and abroad, such as Elvira from National Taipei University who once had a foreign boyfriend, Pennie from Tamkang University and majoring in multiple languages on campus, etc. But given the length of the article, I won’t go into detail about the people I met on the forums.

What I’ve learned?

The first is that we should seize every opportunity to try and not be afraid of any failure,

because opportunities come and go quickly, and they will not be waiting for you there.

The second is that we need to get to know more friends from different life circles, and even from different countries.

In addition to breaking our own framework and expanding our own pattern, the continuous accumulation of social capital will help us in the future.

Last but not least, when we achieve a certain achievement, we should not be satisfied with it, but constantly improve ourselves,

because the world is very big, people who are better than us will only appear constantly, and we should uphold the idea of continuous efforts to grow!

The above is who I’ve met and what I’ve learned at the 2022 Global Youth Trends Forum.

Author: Eric (Netscape) 張緯麒

--

--