Top 5 Programming Language You Should Learn in 2023

networkdavit
3 min readJan 26, 2023
Photo by AltumCode on Unsplash

Hi! As a developer with around 4 years of experience, I have worked with a lot of technologies as I had to adapt during the job. As an example, I had to learn how to use Angular in about a month so I could start working on a new project that our company was outsourcing.

In this article, I would like to give my opinion on top 5 languages you should learn in 2023. Note, this is my personal opinion and it doesn’t mean it’s the best, if your favorite technology isn’t here, I feel you, because mine won’t be in the list as well (it’s Ruby in case you care). One more thing, this article will cover only programming languages, so no things such as HTML and CSS will be present here.

1. JavaScript

JavaScript is still the most popular language in the world, since it is the only option we have for front end web development, it is very widely used in backend, mobile development, machine learning and game development. There is a famous quote about JavaScript. “Anything that can be Written in JavaScript, will Eventually be Written in JavaScript” — Jeff Atwood. It seems like this quote wasn’t lying, and the whole world might run on JavaScript soon.

2. Python

Python is on this list, since it’s also widely used in web development, machine leaning, as well as data science, automation, web scraping, etc. The list is quite large, and the reason Python can do so much is thanks to the immense amount of libraries it has built by the community. Python is also very beginner friendly, and a lot of people who start coding for the first time, choose Python as their first language. I truly believe that Python’s popularity will not decrease anytime soon, which makes it an easy choice to learn and not worry that the language will die.

3. Solidity

Think of Solidity as Python, but it’s primarily used in Web3 development. You’ve heard about Web3 right? It was a really popular topic and a lot of people were getting on the hype train to learn it and start making a lot of money. While the hype isn’t as big right now, Solidity is the best choice we have for Smart Contracts and Web3, so it would be a shame not to put it on the list, although I don’t recommend learning it first since it is used in such a niche market.

4. Go

I usually say that if Go was a child, its parents would’ve been Python and C. Go has very easy-to-follow syntax just like Python, but it is unbelievably fast just like C. Go is used in many areas such as developing scalable servers and large software systems. I personally believe that it is the language of the future.

5. Java

Although I am not a fan of Java, I have to give credit where it’s due. Java is still one of the most popular languages in 2023, it is used in android development, desktop applications, web development, machine learning, and much more. It has quite outdated syntax in my opinion, but what it does well is teaching OOP(Object Oriented Programming) by forcing you to use it and use it well. I would probably recommend learning Java first if I would talk to a beginner, because I believe that Java can teach the basics of programming much better than something like Python.

I hope you enjoyed reading this article!

If you have time, please consider following me on Twitter and medium! Thank you!

twitter.com/davidhayrapet

https://medium.com/@networkdavit

--

--

networkdavit

Hi, I am Davit, JavaScript/Python/Ruby Developer, Bug Bounty Hunter, Web Development trainer and Cybersecurity Enthusiast