The story about my art

Pocket Scientist
3 min readMay 3, 2018

--

Inspiration: I started to research the big questions of life. I found myself gravitating towards experts in the field who provided insights. After watching, reading, and listening to their comments and writings there was always a detailed pictorial that I could find illustrating all their thoughts, ideas, and concepts. Not only did I save the diagrams but I saved youtube videos and writings (perhaps 2,000 +) going back 3 years on pocket. An app that would allow me to save anything on any device. Meanwhile, an algorithm was running to understand all of the content I saved, and compare that with what else was on the internet. It would also suggest new knowledge relevant to my preferences at the time that I may not have known existed online.

What this page does/what it could be: I decided to take the big questions of life and marry them with the illustrations to share with the world. After careful consideration, I’ve decided to print the illustrations on old fashion transparent, translucent film paper. Each illustration with the big picture question will be framed and hung with lights behind them. It will be 6 inches from the gallery wall which will be painted white and illuminated with soft amber white lights from Philips Hue Smart Lighting. When the patron walks into the gallery room, they will be presented with the big questions and illustrations that attempt to answer their question in less than 30 seconds.

Purpose/Challenges: My purpose is to inspire a curiosity to have people take my concepts and do more research on their own. I hope to utilize the services of a curator to exhibit my work.

What I would like worked on/help with: To work with an art director to execute the design and perform market research to validate the assumptions from experts in the industry. I plan to offer my appropriation artwork for the framed and lighted pieces for money. My target audience will be corporate America. This is will be exhibited in conference rooms which are used by teams who are responsible for ideas that are disruptive and paradigm shifting.

What’s perhaps next: My next step is to take one of my original art works and sell it as a vendor to corporations and boutiques and make money. How do I get the work original? Reappropriate it. How do get the work into corporations? Some have in-house creative teams. Selling doesn’t necessarily work if the stock is pre planned. That’s the difference between corporate, and outside corporate. How is selling on own at, say, an event? Only one person. Not as productive as selling nationwide/worldwide to in mass production. Selling will face shipping costs which depend on size, weight, where it’s going. There are custom boxes, and flat rate boxes.

Other notes for execution:

fotografiamazine (is juried exhibitions) such as http://www.fotografiamagazine.com/photography-awards-competitions/?utm_content=buffer82403&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter.com&utm_campaign=buffer

Still River Editions Danbury, CT

State of Connecticut Grants

Fairfield County Council Art Buzz

Crowdfunding

Branford Art Association Grant (The Branford Community Foundation)

State of Connecticut resources art council new haven

Designer interior home design centers

Liscensing fairs sell IP (art licensing specifically)

Pexels.com (free images)

Adobe cloud free

Can be copied not stolen

Facts

Colors are subjective for the law

Customers on Etsy 54 million registered as members

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Etsy

-

Unlisted

--

--