Coronavirus Completely Changed My Reading Habits

I no longer read for pleasure; it’s all coronavirus, all the time.

Nancy R. Gough, PhD
3 min readMay 18, 2020

I love to read. I have been reading for living for more than 20 years, yet I have always read for pleasure as well. Before the coronavirus, I used to read books all the time. Literally, every day I would have one or more books that I was reading. I wasn’t very picky either. I read fiction and non-fiction, historical and present day stories, mysteries and romances. Really, anything would do. Reading was how I relaxed, escaped from thinking about work, or took a break during stressful times.

However, I rarely used to read magazines unless I was in a doctor’s office. I did not read much news either. I might check a bit of news on my phone occasionally, but mostly I did not read on my phone. I rarely even kept my cell phone with me when I was at home and often left it at home when I went out.

Since late February, when the coronavirus started to look as if it would become a pandemic, I haven’t read a single book. Don’t get me wrong, I am still an avid reader. I still read many hours every day. But I find myself reading so much news and scientific articles that I don’t read books any more. Somehow, I feel that I must keep up with the science and it doesn’t seem right to read just for pleasure.

Instead, I keep my cell phone with me most of the time. I check multiple news sites multiple times a day. I have even subscribed to a few news sites and…

--

--