Dobrý den!

Nina Gabrielle Worth
3 min readJan 27, 2019

--

It has been one week since my flight from RDU touched down in Prague and already its been an adventure. I did not know what to expect when I said goodbye to my parents for the next few months but I knew that when I arrived it would be the first time I would be ebarking on a journey where I would experience so many novel experiences simultaneously. Between the countless Tesco runs (European Target) and easing into classes, I know I am starting to settle into my new home in Prague. In just one week, I have semi-mastered the Czech tram system, improved my Czech language ten-fold (as it didn’t start out very well), and nearly accostomed to my new neighborhood in Vinohrady.

Český Krumlov

The first day I arrived was filled with excitement and curiousity however that excitement quickly turned to anxiety the first time I went to a grocery store and the check out clerk did not speak a lick of English. Immediately I came to the realization that I was out of my element and some adjustment would be neccesary. While Prague is a city that attracts many different people of different origins not everyone speaks English- as they should not have to. Sometimes as an American, we unfortunately and arrogantly expect everyone to adjust to us but that is why this experience will be so beneficial and eye-opening for me. Coming to a country where my Romantic language background bares no resemblence to the Slavic-derived Czech language gives me the opportunity to really dive into the culture and people and really find my place here in Prague.

Prague

Since coming to Prague I have met 50 new friends, gone bobsleeding in the mountains, climbed a tree top tower in freezing temperatures, gone ice skating, visited a muesuem of communism, went to a beer factory, seen buildings and castles from as early as the 12th and 13th centuries, tried many local Czech cuisines and more. Mind you, its been one week so one can only imagine what will come fo the upcoming months that I will spend here. Who is to say what will come next but if it is anything like the past week, my hopes are high. Already, it is unreal how much Prague feels like home and I already dread the day I have to leave.

Bobsledding

When I decided on attending the Prague Institute I was worried about culture shock, negative attention, or other worrisome events of attending a not-so diverse country. However, maybe I am speaking prematurely, but I have experienced the complete opposite. Despite some stereotypical typecasts of Czechs being classified as “rude,” I now know is just a difference of culture. It is not “bad” that Czechs keep to themselves or are not smiley people but rather is a difference of cultural norms. While I do not necessarily “blend in” with the Czech locals it has certainly been refreshing seeing some locals nod in approval when they see you abide by Czech social norms, public transportation “rules,” or utlilize some czech phrases every now and then. Even some of the local clerks are starting to recognize and acknowledge the effort that some of the students are partaking in that they have not necessarily seen with other tourists who temporarily reside in their home city. It takes some time and I am still learning but I am hopeful that by the end of the program navigating all of Prague and Czech culture will become second nature.

Prague

More to Come.

-Nina

--

--

Nina Gabrielle Worth

A college student currently figuring it out. Whatever “it” is.