Code Blue: The Fascinating Anatomy of Grey’s Decline

The McDream is Over.

Nia Chin
10 min readNov 21, 2023

Make yourself comfortable so we can hash this out. I recommend grabbing a beer and some coffee.

When I think of defining moments, I think of the year 2005; it was monumental.

YouTube was created. Eris, the second-largest known dwarf planet, was discovered. Hurricane Katrina happened, completely reshaping life as we knew it in the United States. And Grey’s Anatomy was born.

Unless you’re a recluse, disconnected from mainstream media, you’ve heard of the show. Fast-forward to 2023… you may be less interested in tuning in, and I’d understand why. The notorious “Grey’s” is chock full of abnormally beautiful, arrogant doctors who hone impeccable dexterity and appear to invest more energy in their relationships than practicing medicine. So, what’s all the buzz?

“Grey’s” became my guilty pleasure during its second season on air while I was indisposed due to chronic arthritis. The younger version of me was out of my depth and dumbfounded by heavily nuanced conversations too explicit to relate. I understood the show’s surface dynamics but couldn’t construe the key deliberations that only present themselves in a ripened life.

--

--

Nia Chin

Writer in Bloom | Cake Fairy | Full-Time Storyteller🎭🖊️🎥 Want to make a video? ➡️ Vimeo.com/studiochin