MUSIC 256A: Week 5

Nibha Akireddy
2 min readOct 24, 2021

--

Chp 5: Interface Design + Interlude

Principle 5.18: Re-mutualize!

Reading explicitly about the interaction loop between human and machine felt like it really cemented ideas and feelings I have always had but have never been able to express precisely. This chapter points out the lack of haptic feedback from controller to player that contributes to the loss of intimacy between human player and instrument when using a synthesizer or more digital instrument. That lack of intimacy — connection between creation and subtle muscle movements, pressure, and position — is a huge part of why I’ve had a hard time with digital and electronic creation, even as an artist with a simultaneous passion for electrical engineering.

The task of re-mutualizing, integrating the human body into a system, is a fascinating way to build more intimate connection into even a digital system. Throughout the chapter and the interlude, I love how Perry is able to bring this concept of re-mutualizing into not just the experiences that users have playing his instruments and creations, but into the very process of creating these inventions. His attitude of physically tinkering and playing and seeing what pops out feels so organic and physical in a way that I would love to embody in my projects. I do wonder how I can more embrace those attitudes when my project is fundamentally focused on Chunity, a hybrid digital platform.

Honestly, one of the most impactful parts of this reading for me was the page after the chapter and interlude, titled simply: “Aesthetics is not luxury.” I think it’s important to see these projects as art and play, as vessels to find out what we individually and as classmates find beautiful or see as interesting stories/experiences we want to share. Instead of seeing this class as a technical course, I’m learning to reframe it as more of like an English or history or art class where I’m able to learn from everyone else’s perspective rather than just passively listening to a professor or fulfilling objective tasks.

Unlisted

--

--