How to achieve buy in for a design system

Nic N.
3 min readFeb 21, 2023

--

Hello there! If you stumbled across this article I am guessing you are considering using a design system, but first you need to achieve buy in from your team or stakeholders.

If there is one thing stakeholders appreciate it is numbers / KPI’s. So I ran with my anecdotal philosophy and attempted to quantify the results of consistency with the help of real world quotes.

Note: This approach worked in this case but I would suggest to tailor your research/quotes to important KPI’s or goals your company has.

First, I wanted to set the context with 3 slides. (Slide 1)

Slide 1

Once the context was set I introduced what we would use to create consistency; a design system. Below I tried to highlight the main points of a design system based on research and findings of other teams and companies that currently use a design system. (Slide 2)

Slide 2

In addition to efficiency, another benefit of a design system is being able to scale faster. To really drive this point across I thought of real world examples of scaling. The most obvious one to me was a foundation of a house or building. If your foundation is not sturdy or not consistent, then the rest of the house or building could be at risk. (Slide 3)

Slide 3

Once I set the context with the first three slides I circled back to the importance of consistency in design & UX. I led this with a quote I found about first impressions as it directly relates to any experience whether its on the web or in person.

Slide 4

A focus for that quarter was returning users, so I picked out some quotes that related to returning users perceptions based on the aesthetic and their experience.

Slide 5

In addition to a focus on consistency I wanted to also reinforce the experience and speed aspect so I finished off with some more quotes. I also included one about sense of humor as it relates to voice & tone. (Slide 6)

Slide 6

I was given about a day to add some research as to why we should use a design system, so I chose quotes and quotes with numbers as I find them the most helpful when trying to persuade a decision.

These slides were part of our quarterly team meeting, which consisted of a bunch of slides from each team member so I tried to keep it brief while also driving home the important points.

I hope this helps give you some momentum to be a champion for consistency and thank you for taking the time to read :)

Sources used below:

Uxeria

Forrester

Business Insider

Video Explainers

Adobe

Think With Google

Sector Light

Comscore

Neil Patel

Think With Google

MachMetrics

University of Surrey

Tyton Media

MyTechlogy

ClickZ

MindShare World

KoMarketing

eConsultancy

MeasuringU

Poynter

UX Planet

Amazon Web Services

Visually

--

--