I hate when the Weatherman is Right

Nicholas R.Rockey Simon
3 min readJan 14, 2020

ugh…

A weatherman’s average accuracy is 80–90%, unfortunately, my life feels even more predictable than that.

Although I respect the weatherman and his meteorology, his accuracy can leave me feeling blue. Generally, I like weatherpeople or at least I feel indifferent towards them. Admittedly, I do find it hard not to get slightly annoyed at the audacity of a person that feels they can accurately predict the future.

This person is reminiscent of a bad teacher telling a student full of potential but reluctant to do the work that they will never amount to anything or a boy’s basketball coach telling the players statistically how unlikely it is for them to make the NBA.

It's a potent dose of reality offered, even forced upon you. That you never requested.

I know, take it easy it's just the weather, right?

Well, think of it this way. We are all trying to do something, accomplish something get somewhere, become someone, right?

Or at least we like to think we are.

There is that glimmer of potential, that seed, some people’s seeds are as small as watermelon seeds others large and thick like a mango.

I was always told mine was large like the Coco de Mer or Sea Coconut. Heritor of the world's largest seed, 40lbs of seed potential.

Many are able to plant, water, bloom and live off the harvest of their seed, especially small seeders. They aren't expecting to build an orchard, a planter on the windowsill could do, perhaps a large oak in the backyard.

For the rest of us, that isn't the case, especially us large seeders.

For most of us, somewhere in our minds, we feel like something will push us into action, some moment will occur that accelerates us or provides us with the right conditions or soil, to plant and realize that potential!

The weatherman’s forecast forces us to take our heads out of the clouds and look and see what’s actually coming, the reality of it all.

When the weatherman is wrong he creates flexibility, the existence of the possibility that something terrific may happen, it leaves room for the spontaneity of the universe and impulsiveness of oneself.

Perhaps tomorrow can be different!

Instead of the humdrum expected, maybe tomorrow my life can be unexpected. If the sun comes out when it was supposed to rain perhaps the universe will surprise me as well or better yet, maybe I will surprise myself.

Whenever the weatherman is right, so was my teacher, the NBA percentages my grade 8 coach gave me seem like solid well-timed advice. They are no longer people who just didn't get me.

In other words, if the sun comes out on schedule, it reminds me of how basic I have allowed my life to be. It highlights the feeling that my seed could end up unplanted and that many tomorrows have come and gone and I have done nothing to grow that potential and as sure as the 5-day forecast, I will continue to do nothing.

That’s depressing, therefore I hate when the weatherman is right.

Don’t you?

Here I detail why Saturdays are the biggest motivators in your life.

Nicholas Simon is a writer and sales professional. He is a Canadian living in the Pacific Northwest with his wife and three kids. He writes short stories, articles, and other peculiars that dawn upon him.

--

--

Nicholas R.Rockey Simon

Writer, Marketer, Do-er, Thinker, bridger, feared-failure - a minority from the masses, unsure that knowing is half the battle.