LEND ME YOUR HOPE

Nicholas Nikumboth
1 min readApr 13, 2024

--

Lend me your hope for a while,

I seem to have mislaid mine.

Lost and hopeless feelings accompany me daily,

pain and confusion are my companions.

I know not where to turn;

Looking ahead to future times does not bring forth images of renewed hope.

I see troubled times, pain-filled days, and more tragedy.

Lend me your hope for a while,

I seem to have mislaid mine.

Hold my hand and hug me;

listen to all my ramblings, recovery seems so far distant.

The road to healing seems like a long and lonely one.

Lend me your hope for a while,

I seem to have mislaid mine.

Stand by me, offer me your presence, your heart and your love.

Acknowledge my pain, it is so real and ever present.

I am overwhelmed with sad and conflicting thoughts.

Lend me your hope for a while;

a time will come when I will heal,

and I will share my renewal,

hope and love with others.

Photo by Ron Smith on Unsplash

………. Adapted from the poem “Lend Me Your Hope”, author unknown.

--

--

Nicholas Nikumboth

CHRISTIAN (Saved & Called), Governance and International Relations Professional, writer, guitarist, sports enthusiast, proud African.