6 amazing places to hike in Japan

Nicholas Tenhue ✒️
2 min readFeb 7, 2017

--

Here’s a collection of places you might want to walk/run/hike to experience the Japanese wilderness.

1. Tokai Nature Trail

This one runs almost from Tokyo to Osaka. Might be worth looking at segments of this trail along the way:

2. Koyasan

Koyasan is absolutely beautiful UNESCO designated mountain-top area with dozens of temples. I stayed there a few days when travelling across the country. If you want the traditional Japanese mountain monk food and some challenging terrain, I would stay in a temple and check out the mountain hikes:

3. Mt. Takao

Closer to Tokyo there is Mt. Takao. This is a nice day trip/hike. You’ll really enjoy the beer garden there, too:

4. Kamamura

There’s a bunch of trails just south of Tokyo that are great for day trips:

5. Tateyama

This hardcore alpine route opens April 15th. It’s a little out of the way since it’s on the north side of Japan. Unlike all of the other things I’ve included, I haven’t been on this trail, but I’ve heard great things from some athletic friends who have hiked up there:

6. Kamikochi

Kamikochi is easily one of the most beautiful places I’ve seen in Japan. I would highly recommend this as a two day trip. Just a Japanese mountain resort and snow capped mountains as far as you can see:

Have any other suggestions to add? Let me know in the comments!

--

--