Losing weight is hard. Being overweight is harder.

Nichole Freije
2 min readAug 16, 2017

--

July 16, 2015 — August 15, 2017

It’s been two years since I really changed my eating habits and got back to exercising. I’ve lost 75 pounds, 75 inches and gone from plus size 2x to size medium. Two years later, I’ve kept the weight off, but I gained back some pounds and inches this spring and summer.

Stress, changing jobs, moving, starting my own business, all took precedent over accountability groups, workout routines and eating on plan. There was more pizza than I’d like to admit, but carryout helps when you’re working nonstop and your pans are packed in moving boxes. No excuses, just reality.

Reality means living a healthy lifestyle so that I can enjoy pizza on a Friday night after a football game. Reality also means eating vegetables and lean proteins for most of my meals.

Wherever you are on your healthy (or unhealthy) lifestyle, I’d love talk about it. I promise to start posting my recipes and workouts again, and it would be great if you would chime in wherever you are with your health goals.

I’ve learned a lot during the last two years, and helps me stick with it if I help other people stay accountable, too. It’s the key step to mastery: to really get it yourself, you have to help other people get it, too.

A lot people helped me, and so many still do. Thank you friends, family and those of you I’ve met online.

If you know someone who feels like she can’t lose the weight, or someone who thinks he is just meant to be a large guy, mention my story. It’s really hard to be overweight, and it feels really lonely. You just feel like a failure, and you’re not. So many of us are really successful people, it’s just this one area of our lives that escapes us, and it doesn’t have to be that way.

Thank you for listening to me, and for supporting me the past two years. We’re all in this together.

--

--

Nichole Freije

From losing weight to becoming self-employed, this is my story. Sometimes embarrassing, sometimes funny, always the truth. Thanks for listening to me.