Mise-en-Scening

Nick Swantek
2 min readSep 10, 2015

--

Decor: This photo is most obviously highlighted by the message bearing decoration I found in a store at the Town Center. The decor of the words combined with my clean polo button down provide a formal, sincere mood to the photo. The romantic song stands out in a photo meant to be sent to your loved one. (I sent this photo to Jacob Fiallos)

Lighting: The white closet in the background helps to form a very bright setting, one in which is also complimented by my white shirt, white teeth, and white gaming console. Aside from physical light, there is a metaphorical light being cast from my eyes and smile of sheer happiness, after finally purchasing a new Nintendo Wii to play with my friends(self).

Space: The expanse of snowy Central Park fills the background space, all giving room for the focal point of the photo, a young man with outstretched arms and a slightly outstretched tongue that provides a sense of swagger well beyond his years. (That’s me I’m the young man!!)

Costumes/Make-Up: What was at first a try on for a new jacket slowly but surely worked its way into the creation of an Eskimo costume. The apparel certainly transforms me from a young boy into a young arctic Eskimo, but one that may be mad at his Eskimo parents for purchasing the wrong type of jacket.

Acting: “Act like you’re taking a bite of your pizza so I can have a cute picture for my snapchat story.”

I do what I’m told.

--

--