A sample of the typeface I’m going to be scrapping and starting from scratch. I hate this. I’ve redesigned this masthead 10 times using better fonts, but part of this experiment is about embracing discomfort.

A) Learning in Public

Nick Dazé
2 min readFeb 19, 2015

Yesterday was the first day of forty in which I am designing a typeface. That might not sound particularly groundbreaking, except for the following information:

  1. I am bad at finishing side projects, and I want to improve
  2. I have been “designing” this typeface for about 2 years already, and I’m going to scrap it and start from scratch
  3. I’m going to document my learnings as best I can, which will force me to write more [see item 1]
  4. I’m going to do it in public
  5. When I’m done, I’m going to release it for free

All the background you need on the font is this: a couple of years ago, a friend of mine found a vintage restaurant menu and wanted my help identifying the typeface used in it. After a good bit of research, we couldn’t identify it and guessed that it most likely was a pre-digital typeface that didn’t make the transition.

The specimen is gorgeous. I think it’s a geometric sans serif with a couple of humanist flourishes—right at home in the late 1950s. It looks a lot like a few of my favorite fonts. It has Futura’s steady hand and workmanship, with splash of Neutraface’s fashionability. I love it. So I decided to use it as the seed of my first font.

I’m going to make huge, time-sucking, embarrassing mistakes.

It’s possible that the moment I publish this, someone will call me out. They’ll say “Hey doofus, that’s clearly [some brilliant typeface that everyone except I have heard about somehow].” I’d love to know what this specimen is, and its potential identification will not invalidate this project.

I’ll post a lot more about it over the next forty days, and I’ll be blabbing on Twitter with the hashtag #font40.

The fear for me comes from this very post, and in its future siblings. I am not formally trained in typography. I guarantee you I’m going to make huge, time-sucking, embarrassing mistakes. People I don’t know might skewer me.

I am armed only with an intense passion for type and a sincere desire to learn something new. The best case scenario is that I finish, and that the lessons I learn help someone else. Maybe they would never have learned something useful if they hadn’t stumbled accidentally across one of my posts, and if I had not been stubborn and thick-skinned and in love with the shape of words.

--

--

Nick Dazé

Co-founder of @pocketlist . Bucky Fuller wannabe. he/him/his #LongLA