Why Figma? From the Eyes of a Student

Nick Sia
3 min readNov 6, 2017

--

My state of Figma

I have known Figma since mid-2016 but I finally invested in it by the end of 2016. Honestly speaking, my only reason to use Figma was that I didn’t own a Mac but I really wanted to get into the design (I know I know I can use Illustrator or Photoshop, but bear with me). Even though I’ve been using Photoshop and Illustrator for the longest time, using these two tools feels very clunky and heavy for designing UI. Sketch was a better option at that time but I didn’t own a Mac.

Initially, I just signed up for Figma early access just because it’s free, but I never really used it once I got it. Until one time I got a newsletter (I think, I don’t remember actually) email from Figma and noticed that it’s browser-based, which means Windows user, like me at that time, can use this tool. Then my whole world changed 180 degrees. Since then I used Figma all the time. Even when I got a MacBook Pro in January 2017, I did use Sketch once in awhile but for sure I do have a preference towards Figma and here’s why:

  1. It’s FREE for Students. Let’s be real, students are broke. University books are absurdly expensive. That ~$60 (CAD) to purchase a design tool worth a lot. Figma gives free access to students. The team at Figma is passionate about design education (https://www.figma.com/education)!
  2. Windows and Linux users are welcomed. The fact that Figma is browser-based, there’s no barrier to use for Windows and Linux user. This is awesome because, for the folks that don’t own a Mac, Figma allows you to design UI easily.
  3. Not Clunky, feels light but powerful (Quality over Quantity). The UI feels light and not intimidating. When I started, there weren’t a lot of tutorials whatsoever. My transition from photoshop and illustrator to Figma was just butter smooth. One big reason is that everything seems familiar but not intimidating at all.
  4. Figma ships features very quickly and often. Figma did #6DaysofShipping (https://blog.figma.com/icymi-an-overview-of-figmas-feature-release-week-bb9cba9ce6b0). Isn’t it awesome?!
  5. They listen. Their support team is amazing and always responsive. Not just dealing with questions they also suggest solutions. They understand the user. Features are built to fulfil what the users want and need.
  6. You can import your Sketch file to Figma easily. You can just drag and drop your Sketch file to Figma and that’s it. So simple and seamless.
  7. No worries if you don’t have your computer with you. Since Figma uses cloud system, whenever and wherever you have your Figma login, you can access ALL your design files from any computer.

Thank you!

Finally, I just want to say thank you to the Figma team for creating an awesome product. Figma completely changed my life and helps me to kickstart my product/UX design career.

P.S. This article is not sponsored nor I work for Figma. It’s just my genuine appreciation towards Figma.

--

--