Where is our map of the UK open data infrastructure?

Nick M Halliday
1 min readNov 24, 2017

--

I have asked this question a number of times and have yet to receive a convincing answer.

If I was new to open data where would I go to find out what data sources exist? These could include API, website, portals, registers or lists.

I know some of us have our own lists such as this excellent one by Owen Boswarva of local open data portals. I have even made my own somewhat inelegant attempt. Of course GDS have bravely created their register of registers.

These are worthy contributions but where is the ring to rule them all?

I was having a chat to Michael Smethurst today and he wondered whether something could be done with wikidata?

So who would be interested in starting to build up such map by drawing up a list of lists that could be published on a stable long lasting platform?

--

--