Makers Academy W7 D3: Rick ASCII

TL;DR — The only useful information in this is details about JSON’s Package.

Man Vs Code (Nick Rupp)
2 min readApr 26, 2017

Overall

Don’t know why, but I bumbled through today with a lot less pizzazz than I normally do. That said, it was still a really productive day, I just felt deeply drained at points. Sort of like one of those old rechargeable duracell batteries that I used to use and abuse when playing gameboy years ago and then bit by bit they would start to drain quicker and quicker. I’m pretty sure this is self-inflicted though, definitely need to get a bit better with checking in with the sandman! For this reason, I’m going to leave the regular over the top day break down at the door today and keep it short and simple!

(By short and simple I mean here’s a picture of Rick ASCII. I feel that because this isn’t a well crafted blog post I’m going to take liberties and leave you with the gift of a cheeky rick roll)

Rick ASCII

Learnt:

Here’s something useful so I don’t totally feel like I’ve unleashed 250 words of useless tut and a rick roll onto the web for no reason.

package.json

When writing Javascript apps using node, a package.json is a file that you set up to tell future users exactly what extra software you need to install onto your computer in order to get it all up and running! (As well as all the author information, licensing etc etc). First you need to install node. (I’m assuming you’re familiar with Homebrew if you’ve stuck around until this point -if not check it out).

brew install node

and then to set up your package.json run in the top file directory of your app using:

cd location/of/your/app   ///Directs to your app's home directory
npm init

Once you’ve specified all the packages that you have used, all a future user needs to do is run

npm install

and it will sort it all out for them!

Magic!

If you’ve made it this far,

Rupp Love x

--

--

Man Vs Code (Nick Rupp)

Not unlike the popular TV show Man vs. Food but with a tighter budget and more concern for bytes rather than bites. (A record of my time with Makers Academy!)