Undone Beauty, Totnes

Shop DARTisan
4 min readMar 22, 2018

--

As I write this post, I can still smell the soothing, calming aroma of artisan skincare products, and can’t help occasionally stroking my face, marvelling at how smooth and soft my skin feels. I am also feeling surprisingly relaxed for a Thursday evening!

All this is the result of a bespoke “completely undone” facial by skincare expert Suzi, founder of skin clinic, Undone Beauty, in Totnes.

I have to admit to not being particularly attentive to looking after my skin. My skin care regime is basic to say the least, using only hot water, soap, a high-street moisturiser and the occasional face mask or spray of toner now and then.

I arrived at Undone Beauty, located in the Chapel House Studios, with a rather pasty, makeup- free, dehydrated complexion, exacerbated by dark shadows under my eyes and redness around my nose. I looked awful! 90 minutes later I left, still without makeup, but with a healthy, clean, revitalised face I was happy to share with the world.

Suzi’s treatment room is calm, tranquil, and welcoming. I was made to feel completely at ease as Suzi began her consultation about my skin and any particular concerns I had. Based on this conversation and what Suzi observed with her expert eye, I was then treated to a blissful 75 minute bespoke facial, designed specifically for my skin using Suzi’s own a seven step process.

  1. Deep cleanse with the Magnitone Vibra Sonic 3-in-1 brush,
  2. Exfoliation
  3. Steam
  4. Extractions (if required)
  5. Personalised facial massage (Suzie helped relieve some sinus problems I’ve been having)
  6. Skin-specific mask (vitamin C and cherry for me to reintroduce colour into my face)
  7. An application of bespoke serums, moisturisers and eye cream (this included Alpha H Liquid Gold for me, to revitalise and firm up my skin)

I was indulged with warm face cloths, steam, neck, shoulder and face massages, and a soothing vitamin feeding face mask, and, just to make this a truly luxurious experience, I was also treated to a scalp massage.

And the results? My skin feels the smoothest it has for a long time; it has a radiant glow and more colour – much needed after this long cold winter. I really wasn’t expecting such instant and obvious results. My face looks tight, clean, and bright, and I am a much more relaxed version of me.

From left to right, Before, immediately after and 2 hours later.No filters, make-up free

I have always been of the opinion that full body massage is the perfect way to de-stress, unwind, and relax; after today, a facial is definitely an alternative for me, and given it’s an anti-aging technique, this treatment is a double whammy for girls of a certain age.

I left Undone Beauty fully advised of how best to treat my skin and feeling inspired to look after my face properly — after all it’s the least it deserves after what I put it through each day.

This was a wonderfully luxurious self- care experience, and I would recommend Undone Beauty to anyone that who wants to give their skin some regeneration or simply to take some time to truly relax.

A little more information

In relation to skin products, Suzi has 25 years’ experience in beauty therapy, so she has developed an in-depth expertise on the best natural, quality skincare ingredients. Her philosophy is ‘clean beauty’, and she sources safe, sustainable, and ethically produced skincare products that do what they’re supposed to do. Her products include:

Evolve Beauty, Alpha-H, Anotonia Burrell, Aromotherapy Associates, Studio 10, Kure Bazaar and Outback Organics.

Undone Beauty is located

@ The Chapel House Studios

Station Road, Totnes, Devon, TQ9 5HW

Tel: 07743 285024

For more information and to see all the treatments available at Undone Beauty visit

https://www.myundonebeauty.com/

Undone Beauty is also on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter, @myundonebeauty

--

--

Shop DARTisan

Sharing “all unique is local” in the South Hams. Supporter of creativity and small businesses.