One of the entrances to the exhibition

Visiting the Tate Modern

Nicolai Hald
2 min readMay 13, 2016

The Tate is an institution that houses the United Kingdom’s national collection of British art, and international modern and contemporary art.

It is a network of four art museums: Tate Britain, London, Tate Liverpool, Tate St Ives, Cornwall and Tate Modern, London. The Tate is not a government institution, but its main sponsor is the Department for Culture, Media and Sport.

My view:

I can’t judge art, seeing as I’m no expert or pro artist myself, but I’m wans’t disappointed when I visit the Tate Modern. During my recent visit with a friend, we wondered around the whole place, and found very little of interest to us. I did really fall in love with the few things I liked, but I guess, that’s art.

One thing that amazed me was that I could stand right in front of a Dali painting with no cord or barrier and no crowd with me. Lovely lofty rooms that show the art and installations off well and I enjoyed it all except for the boring South American protest stuff.

Plenty plenty of media, film, sculpture, painting, installations. Quite amazed it’s free. Such a benefit to Londoners.

It is a great refuge on a rainy day, with plenty to look at plus a cafe and wonderful gift shops. On a clear day, step out onto the balcony on the higher floors for a view over the Thames, and follow up the visit with a walk across the Millennium Bridge or along the river.

There is always something new and different at the Tate, and even if you think that you don’t like modern art it is definitely worth a visit.

--

--