Screenshot of the sales within 5 months

5 Things I’ve Learned Making Half A Million Euros in Sales Within 5 Months

This is a drop shipping story.

Nick Bonnassies
Ascent Publication
Published in
5 min readSep 5, 2018

--

1. It is really easy

In drop shipping, it is easy to make sales. It is also way easier to give up.

Most of the times, all it takes is a good product research and a great advertising technique.

For instance, I was selling body shapers in France.

How did I get the idea? I replicated it from another store selling it in the U.S and applied on my market.

Then I paid my ads, targeted french women… Done deal.

Beside the fact I copied a website, most people do not know my business partner had given me an ultimatum.

I had three days to find a way to sell that product or to kill our website.

It had been three months the both of us were working on this.
I had personally lost $4000 into Facebook ads.

Remember, you just gotta be lucky once. It’s easier to get lucky after 1000 attempts than one.

2. Drop shipping rhymes with Freedom

It doesn’t literally rhyme, but it doesn’t even metaphorically rhyme with freedom.

Many quit their 9 to 5 jobs, because they are tired of working for a boss, they want independence and more time.

Myth-buster; drop shipping is a solo-preneur adventure highly dependent on social media such as facebook and suppliers, like Aliexpress.

As a solo-preneur, you’ll have to take care of:

  • Marketing
  • Product research
  • Brand development
  • Customer service
  • Legislative work
  • Do your own coffee ;)

3. Drop shipping is E-commerce

When someone tells you he will teach you e-commerce, most of the time he will teach you drop shipping.

Drop shipping is a part of e-commerce but it’s not its definition.
Being a coach and selling courses online, it is still e-commerce.

Uber technically is a e-commerce platform as well.

Total sales of the business in a year — $778,523

4. $750,000 is a number

Many people in drop shipping chase the big numbers.
Making sales is great but nothing tells you if I was any profitable.

For a fact, the day we made the most revenue was the day we lost most money.

If ever I had to do another drop shipping business, I would rather do $500 sales a day than $10,000.

Most of the time, when you do little sales, you do more margin since you have left staff costs, less advertising costs, and you work less (less customer service…).

You have also less stress to sustain your business, it’s not that hard to sell for $500.

With $500 in sales, you can easily be profitable up to 55% working none to two hours a day. Do the math.

5. If done well you can more money in a week than an employee in his life

It was the sentence you were desperately looking for.

Yes, drop shipping WORKS.

Some of my personal friends are making six digits a week, NET.

Drop shipping is a business model that has been here for years and against what I use to think, it will be there for many others.

To be that successful, you just need very good processes, a great team behind you, and not being scared to get a little dirty.

Drop shipping is often used as a way to make a quick buck and move on.

To be honest, to my knowledge today, it’s probably the best.

Like everything else you will hear good and bad stuffs about drop shipping.

I personally know a lot of people who have made a decent, even sometimes, an indecent amount of money doing it.

I also have read and keep reading a huge amount of people telling their stories of how they failed.

I could not leave you like this, so I’ll add a bonus.

6. Making money is easy

I keep hammering this fact everywhere I meet people asking me about drop shipping.

Drop shipping doesn’t matter, it’s a way not a mean.

The vision is the mean, the success is the mean.

See the bigger picture.

I love to use the example of my best friend.

While I was crushing it in drop shipping, I realized there was a flaw inside the system.

Without going any technical, when you were using the system Shopify +Aliexpress, you needed someone to semi manually pass your orders.

So, I offered him to create a company where he would deal with this, but also develop great customer service as it is the key to a successful business.

Remember, most drop shippers use low quality products to which they 5 fold the price. The customers, on their side, have to wait sometimes for over a month to receive them.

Well, he now works for two of the biggest drop shippers I know in France.

He makes three times his previous salary as a teacher.

He left the two jobs he had.
He works remotely.
He lives comfortably
And he is quite happy with his new lifestyle.

Now it is your turn.

3, 2, 1… ACTION!

--

--

Nick Bonnassies
Ascent Publication

From Waiter to Winner | $750.000 sales in 6 months | Neuroscientist, Master Practitioner in NLP & Hypnotherapist designed to help people grow 🚀🚀