The “Why I Write” Poem

Because nobody tells you what that looks like

Nicole B. Morris
1 min readNov 9, 2022

I write for singular moments.

It's not for the million eyes on me
Or the books all authors dream to be
On covers of doing interviews
And getting in best seller views

This is for children.
Children's dreams.

It’s been the experience of
having a million people
turn away
Look and leave
Not pay notice

Not open to receive

My words.

Until the Universe brings that one person:
That one lesson
That one voice
That one time
Words touched the heart enough to make a memory.

That one person who notices you in a crowd-
Approaches and says
"Thank you for writing that"
And you see it in locked eyes-
Their soul was thirsty.
And those words you bled onto the page so long ago-
Unnoticed
Unmentioned

Were not so...

I write for those.

Not millions of eyes

Just singular moments.

--

--

Nicole B. Morris

Artist, designer, and lover of all things words (logophile I will always claim to be).