Introducing Australia’s Fangtastic Pest-Controlling Housemate: The Huntsman Spider.

Nicole Gibson
4 min readMar 9, 2024

Australia, land of sunshine, koalas, and enough creepy crawlies to make your skin crawl! We do have some real whoppers when it comes to spiders.

I’m sure plenty of you have seen a viral video clip of some Aussie with giant spider running up the wall. That Youtube sensation is most likely one of our many species of Huntsman spiders.

These colossal arachnids, with leg spans reaching up to 15 cm (that’s the width of a dinner plate!), can strike fear into the hearts of even the bravest. For instance, a male friend of mine dived out of his car when one dropped down from the sun visor leaving me bewildered in the passenger seat as the car rolled down the driveway.

It was the most hilarious thing I’ve ever seen in my life. Hunstman spiders are probably the most harmless spider in the land down under. Despite their large scary and hairy appearance they’d rather run away and hide than be aggressive.

True story … I was in the shower all sudsy when I felt something tickle my thigh. I look down and there be a huntsman the size of my hand. I have to admit I was a little…

--

--

Nicole Gibson

I'm a wordsmith who enjoys exploring diverse topics. I have the most fun writing about completely random ideas that pop into my head.