Why Less Can Lead to More (and How to Get There)

Nicole Gibson
3 min readMar 4, 2024
Photo by Nikolay on Unsplash

For the last 18 months I’ve adopted slow living, a philosophy that prioritizes meaningful experiences and connections over the pursuit of excess. (You can read more about slow living in my article: “How to find joy in the Every Day.”)

As I began to embrace the principles, a seemingly mundane event became the lesson for a profound realization about the role possessions play in our lives.

I was about 6 months into my new lifestyle when I had to moved. As I began packing up my belongings, I realised that I had so much stuff that hadn’t been touched in years.

There were boxes stacked at the top of my wardrobe that I didn’t even have a clue what was in them. And that wasn’t the only problem I also looked at my clothes and shoes, I couldn’t even remember the last time I had worn most of them.

It dawned on me that all this “stuff” wasn’t necessary. It was a stark contrast to the principles of slow living I was beginning to explore. This disconnect became a turning point, sparking a desire to break free from the burden of excess.

Benefits of Decluttering:

  • Reduced Mental

--

--

Nicole Gibson

I'm a wordsmith who enjoys exploring diverse topics. I have the most fun writing about completely random ideas that pop into my head.