Who am I and why am I writing small setup articles?

Nicos Nicolaou
3 min readJun 25, 2024

--

This article is different from the others. In this article I would like to explain to you why I am writing small setup articles but first of all I wanted to say a few words about who I am.

Who am I? (it’s not bio article)

My name is Nicos Nicolaou, I am from Cyprus and I hold a BSc on Computer Science and a MSc on Mobile Systems. I am a Senior Software Engineer, Android and Flutter Developer. I have seven years of professional experience but the past nine years I am interested for the mobile development. Before, I started working as a professional mobile developer, I published my first Android application on Google Play Store at 2016.

From 2020, I started working on my open sources projects on my GitHub account, trying and learning new technologies for Android and Flutter, I have more than forty public and private repositories. From the May of 2023, I started publishing my own libraries/packages for Android Native and Flutter.

Why am I writing setup?

How many times did you spend searching to find a complete tutorial with clear steps to implement a functionality? How many times did you find two or more tutorials and combine them to implement a functionality? Before I explain the main reason that I started writing articles, I will explain you how I thought and started writing article. During my career, I was searching for different articles/tutorials to implement a functionality for a project, I found small numbers of articles/tutorials with a completed example, always, it’s missed something, so, I was searching for another and another until completed an implementation.

So, one day, I said to myself, why didn’t you create your own articles — setup for me and for the other developers? Thus, I decided to share all of these knowledges from my private repositories on my GitHub account with other developers. But before I started this journey, I added some “requirements - rules” to myself.

  • Add steps.
  • Try to have complete example on my article, if it is not, then a full example on my GitHub account on a repository.
  • Maintain the code example on my repositories as much as possible.
  • Maintain the articles as much as possible.
  • Try to keep the article “small”.

So, I started writing my own articles “setup” based on what I loved more, the mobile development. But the main reason that I started writing this kind of articles, I wanted to help all the other developers to find clear articles with simple steps.

Why am I writing small setup articles?

Personally, most of the time when I search for an article to implement a functionality, I don’t have time to read a lot of theory. So for that reason I am trying to find an article with simple steps. I am trying to keep all my articles small, to avoid information overload and give to other developers a code example directly. Don’t get me wrong, it doesn’t mean it is not good if an article is big, but most of the time you don’t have time to spend and read too much information during the work times when you have a restricted deadline. Anyway, If I wanted to learn something in depth then I am learning it in my free time. Let a comment below with your experience about this and how to handle it. 👇

I am Nicos Nicolaou and I hope you find this article useful. Let me know your opinion under the comments, feel free to write below in the comments your opinion, opposite, positive or negative. I will appreciate it if you let a clap and follow, so, if I have your support to continue writing.

Let’s connect, https://linktr.ee/nicos_nicolaou

--

--

Nicos Nicolaou

Senior Software Engineer, Android and Flutter Developer, Google Play Developer, Building libraries, Writing articles. 👇🔗 https://github.com/NicosNicolaou16