Amal Fellowship of Excellence:

Nida Asif
4 min readSep 10, 2019

--

Before writing on the best lesson which I have learnt from amal fellowship I want to share my story of joining amal academy. Since after filling my form, done with the interview and even after orientation I was not too much convinced to join amal academy. I was not so much happy and didn’t take it seriously because I was thinking that they only teach us how to write a CV and cover letter etc. I thought that their are online courses I can take them and be expert so why should I have to go there? Similarly, I have a lot of questions in my mind. A day before the first session I texted amal family and said I am not satisfied. Try to convince me. After having a conversation of 15 to 20 minutes I agreed but not so much. In short I was thinking only in 2000 rupees what will they teach us.

Anyhow, I want and attend the sessions of first week. After attending 2 sessions my concept about this fellowship was totally changed and feeling proud to be a part of amal family. The first thing which attracts me alot is positive energy in PM and APM. Their loyalty, respect, honour, co-operation and humility towards class inspired me a lot. I experienced that how much a teacher can be helping hand to improve his or her student. How they provide a comfort level. The way they boost up. How they give a platform to enhance their soft skills.The way they console and listen. This is the platform where I see that there is no jealousy factor. There is no race of grades. But they are struggling to make each other perfect. I have experienced that how to give confidence to each other, how to give chance to each other and to heighten up the skills of others. This 3 months experience change my life at the angle of 360. I have learnt a lot of things which may be I have no words to express.I want to mention a few of them:

  1. How to become a lifelong learner?
  2. How Khudi leads us to Amal?
  3. How can be Aik or Aik gyarah?
  4. Concept of extra mile
  5. How to be a most valuable team player?
  6. Leadership skills
  7. Professional CV writing
  8. Professional CL writing
  9. Knowledge about the rock star LinkedIn profile
  10. How mentors help you to reach your path?
  11. How to identify Strength and Weakness stories?
  12. Job searching and how to be prepared for it.
  13. Interview skills
  14. Habit of EMail writing
  15. Expertise of MS-Excel
  16. How to encourage others?

Other than these things I also learn many more. The 16th point is the most important lesson I have learnt during my fellowship. Although is pretty hard to decide on one of the most important lessons yet I think a lot and want to mention why I chose this one?

One day Mam Hira made groups for debate on the topic of “whether entrepreneur go for the higher degree or start business right after the graduation?” That was the first time one of my fellow who’s name is Shahmeer came into my group. We have to chose a person for argument. I was thinking that we should have to chose that one how has best skills to win this task. Similarly, others are also thinking the same. I said that most powerful speaker in our group is Shahmeer so you have to go and win the task. But I was so much surprised on hearing that I am perfect and confident in speaking. I want to give this chance and select that one how is shy and have not much power of speaking in front of crowd. I want to give this chance to the low confidence person although he or she has skills but along with that he or she has fear to face audience. This is an opportunity for them to come out of that fear. May be they haven’t gotten the platform again in their life like Amal Academy to enhance the skills. That was a time when I thought deeply and felt responsibility to prove a helping hand for those who need our guidelines. This type of thinking I have seen first time in my life. I was really very impressed by my fellow because I haven’t thought like this in my life before. This thing gives me the sense of encouraging others.

I really want to thanks to the Amal Academy for giving us such a chance to feel others responsibility and specially to Shahmeer for giving me such a super amazing sense of obligation to improve myself as well as others.

--

--