Maybe This Is Why You’re Being Unnoticed.

Nida Zehra
3 min readJul 22, 2022

--

Are you too feeling bad because no one is noticing you or your work?? I’m not sure if it’s the medium’s algorithm that works that way, or people around me actually feeling demotivated as I’m seeing so many articles and blogs related to, not getting enough followers or viewers on their posts.

uriel soberanes — unsplash

So, here I’m gonna try to motivate you with all the motivation I have right now, which is not a lot but would be good enough for you to help; I hope.

Do you know there are so many people doing the same work, in the same positions, and in the same way, so what makes you different?

“Be in the right place at the right time.”

This means looking around and finding a better place to fit in. A place where you and work are actually needed or wanted. Sometimes we miss an opportunity that could have given us so much better advantages. But do you know there’s also another reason why you’re not getting noticed at your job or a certain platform?

In 2007, Joshua Bell, a world-renowned classical violinist, did a social experiment to study human behavior. He began to play in a Washington D.C. metro station. Bell was wearing casual clothes with a baseball cap. Thousands of people rushed by during their morning commutes, unaware of the prodigal musician standing just feet away from them.

He played a series of incredibly complex pieces on one of the most valuable violins in the world. As he played, people seemed not to notice, very few even looked in his direction, less threw some change in his open violin case, and fewer still actually paused to listen to his music.

This result is certainly not what you’d expect, a well-known violinist should attract more appreciation or at least attention. So why did people disregard Joshua Bell?

There were a few things they understood from this human behavior, so I’m sharing what my perspective is. The people who saw this casual violinist at a station were too busy to stop by and thought he was just a needy guy who wants money so they ignored his efforts and didn’t pay attention to his beautiful work.

Secondly, so many people who walked by were unaware and uneducated about his talent. They had no idea how difficult and skillful work it is. So, they just took him for granted and ignored him. But if that same violinist performs at a place where people know about his work, and appreciate and love what he’s doing then surely the response is way different than this, right?

The reason to share this story is that I’ve also been to it where I felt myself doing probably the right thing in the wrong place. I started doing some artwork and failed miserably, firstly, because I was not too good at it and secondly, very few people around me were appreciating me or offered to buy my art pieces which weren’t enough for me to choose that hobby as a career. So I started to lose interest and then I finally gave up.

It is also said that, If you build your confidence by listening to someone’s compliment, you’d lose it when you’d hear criticism.

So be confident in what you’re doing and work in the right direction.

Lastly, if you’re here on this medium platform to make contacts, learn how to write, try to do some practice with it, or read articles then stay here because this is what you’ll get here. But if you’re here just to earn money, it’s not that easy, because the amount medium pays is not enough for you to run a house and it will take a good amount of time for you to earn a decent income.

So, either be very consistent without losing hope or try other places where your work is actually valued.

--

--

Nida Zehra

- Youngling artist, who’s also exploring to share her thoughts, ideas and experiences on this platform.