A Long Term Review on Maruti Suzuki S-Presso

Niddhisharma
2 min readJul 18, 2022

--

This blue Maruti S-Presso has been my daily driver for over six months, but I’ve only driven a few hundred kilometres in that time. While travel restrictions imposed by the COVID-19 lockdown contributed, Autocar India’s new work-from-home schedule also played a role. The Maruti S-Presso sat idle on most weekdays as this working arrangement became the “new normal’ for me, except for the occasional post-work grocery run or short trips for household errands.

However, while my weekday driving was minimal, the car would travel between 50 and 75 kilometres on weekends. I was part of a volunteer group for a free clean-water distribution initiative aimed at COVID-19 frontline workers and patients. As we received requests for clean drinking water from various locations across Mumbai during the pandemic, the Maruti S-Presso became my companion in serving the city.

The cabin of the Maruti S-Presso is quite small, but it still has clever storage spaces, particularly in the centre console, which is now used to keep sanitizer and disinfectants. The large bottle holders in the doors have also come in handy. Because of the narrow cabin, I can easily reach out and adjust the left wing mirror without having to remove my seat belt, and I can even close the rear-left door while still sitting in the driver’s seat. In terms of cushioning, the seats are adequate, but I would have prefered adjustable headrests and more thigh support.

The SmartPlay Studio infotainment system, which supports both Android Auto and Apple CarPlay, is standard on our top-spec Maruti S-Presso. The speakers are adequate and produce average sound quality. The Bluetooth microphone, on the other hand, stopped working a few months ago and needs to be repaired.

The S-1.0-litre Presso’s engine is as lively as ever, and when combined with the 5-speed manual gearbox, it’s a joy to drive around town. It’s even more enjoyable now, thanks to reduced traffic, as more people work from home. I sometimes drive at much higher speeds than usual without even realising it, so I have to keep an eye on the centrally mounted speedometer to ensure I’m not exceeding the speed limit. The steering, on the other hand, is quite hazy and requires far too many turns from lock to lock. That said, it’s very light and easy to use in the city, and when combined with the car’s short 3.56m length, it’s a breeze to turn in tight spaces.

My plan for the Maruti S-Presso was to take it on an out-of-town drive during the summer, but that hasn’t happened yet. However, I hope to do so within the next few weeks. More on that in my following report.

--

--