Lessons I Learned from THE ALCHEMIST (Part 2)

Nidhi Singh
3 min readDec 16, 2023

--

Photo by Tirza van Dijk on Unsplash

I didn’t start reading “The Alchemist” at first.

I tried twice but only managed to read two pages each time before putting it aside. Now, I’ve committed myself to reading the book, and I’m already learning important lessons from it. I can’t help but feel regret for waiting so long to dive into this meaningful story.

Here is what I learned from The Alchemist:

  • Sometimes it’s better to leave things as they are.
  • When each day is the same as the next, it’s because people fail to recognize the good things that happen in their lives every day that the sun rises.
  • There was nothing to hold him back except himself.
  • Begginner’s luck, Why is that? Because there is a force that wants you to realize your destiny; it whets your appetite with a taste of success.
  • God has prepared a path for everyone to follow. You just have to read the omens that he left for you.
  • The secret of happiness is to see all the marvels of the world, and never to forget the drops of oil on the spoon.
  • The boy knew that in money there was magic; whoever has money is never really alone.
  • When you really want something, the universe always conspires in your favor.
  • He wept because God was unfair, and because this was the way God repaid those who believed in their dreams.
  • When I had my sheep, I was happy, and I made those around me happy. People saw me coming and welcomed me, he thought. But now I’m sad and alone. I’m going to become bitter and distrustful of people because one person betrayed me. I’m going to hate those who have found their treasure because I never found mine. And I’m going to hold on to what little I have, because I’m too insignificant to conquer the world.
  • I’m like everyone else- I see the world in terms of what I would like to see happen, not what actually does.
  • Because the crystal was dirty. And both you and I needed to cleanse our minds of negative thoughts.
  • You and I aren’t like Hassan, that rich merchant. If he makes a buying mistake, it doesn’t affect him much. But we two have to live with our mistakes.
  • Not everyone can see his dreams come true in the same way.
  • You must always know what it is that you want.
  • I don't know how to deal with change. I’m used to the way I am.
  • Sometimes, there’s just no way to hold back the river.
  • Never stop dreaming.
  • He had worked for an entire year to make a dream come true, and that dream, minute by minute, was becoming less important. Maybe because that wasn’t really his dream.
  • He was actually two hours closer to his treasure… the fact that the two hours had stretched into an entire year didn’t matter.
  • The closer one gets to realizing his destiny, the more that destiny becomes his true reason for being.
  • Creatures like the sheep, that are used to traveling, know about moving on.

Here is the first part of story.

Don’t forget to clap 50 times if you like it

--

--