Photography helps me accept my face

Nigel Brunsdon
2 min readNov 18, 2016

--

Migraine series

I’ve never liked the way I look. While I know I’m not extremely ugly, I also know that I would never consider myself ‘good looking’. My face is full of faults, from the scar on my cheek (as a baby I scratched my face quite badly), the way my smile is never full because I’m so self conscious of my crooked teeth, to the way I see that one of my eyelids has a droop… and that’s without getting to the baldness.

But over the last few years I’ve been seeing myself differently, and I put this down to photography. My face is ‘interesting’. All the things I don’t like about it as my own face are the things I look for in others when taking a photo. I look for imperfections, it’s the imperfections in people that make their face their own.

Migraine series

One of the things I’d done to improve my photography is to practice my self portraiture. I do find it difficult to be on that side of the lens (there is a reason I hide behind the camera), and I can only really focus on it when I’m home alone. But the challenge is worth it, on a technical basis it lets me play with light without annoying someone, on a personal basis I have to spend time looking at myself (when was the last time you spent over a couple of minutes really looking at yourself).

Migraine series

I’m never going to love my face, but I can now accept it, maybe even like it. If only I’d started taking self portraits years ago.

This eyelid droops

--

--

Nigel Brunsdon

I’m a harm reduction advocate, which gives me ‘privileged access’ to a community of wonderful people to photograph.