Unsettler — 15

niguanta
3 min readNov 21, 2023
AI-generated image using my imagination

‘Go to Hushy, girl!’ said Gan. ‘It’s the least you can do. Here,’ he gave me a small holographic chip. ‘Get yourself a free meal!’

I stared at Gan confused.

‘Go, Li! I have work to do.’

‘Ok…’ I accepted the chip, though my mind was still processing what had happened.

The streets were filled with food trucks. Although the best food joints were actual spaceships. It made it easier for the owners to travel from one place to the other.

I walked down one of the busiest streets filled with so many food choices. Anything you’ve ever dreamed of was here. Anything you thought hadn’t been invented yet existed right in front of you, right here. Honey meat on a stick, floating jelly candies (you needed to eat those fast before they flew away), chocolate spicy drums, chestnut burgers, rainbow salads, and of course Hushy’s famous Sooshies. It is said he was inspired by the old Ran settlers, the Earthies, who had a similar dish, yet he claimed he had improved it to perfection.

Hushy was a Fungarian. Fungaria was by far one of the strangest yet well-developed planets I had ever heard of. The planet used to be mainly a swamp with only plants until some visitors unintentionally brought a virus that infected the entire fauna. All the plants became, well, very chatty and incredibly smart. The virus…

--

--

niguanta

Freelance writer with an appetite for fantasy and mystery novels. Among stories, sharing my writing and art journey in a crazy, fast moving world.