Working at Reflect Studio

Nihan Özyavuz
3 min readJul 5, 2019

--

Reflect Team

In the world we currently live in today, there are still many people who are not conscious about the current state of the fashion industry. I myself, am a Fashion Student from Montreal, Canada. I was a girl who dreamed about working in the industry since I was a little girl. When I graduated from College, I moved to Turkey to complete my final internship in a high-end company. I’ve had a good experience but I realised it wasn’t the right place for me. I didn’t do anything to help our planet, as cliché as this might sound. I decided to move permanently after observing the current state of Turkey and examining the excessive consumption of the citizens. I felt like it needed more people who wanted to make a change.

Moreover, I continued my studies in Visual Communication and Design. After graduating, working and volunteering at various places, I still had no clue on what I wanted to do in life. Until Summer 2019, I was applying for jobs online and miraculously found a post on a social media account from a company called Reflect Studio. Now here’s the best part; “reflect is a textile-oriented design studio that creates products for both organisations and individuals. The studio believes that every piece of clothing tells a story. In a world where every purchase is an endorsement, reflect produces its garments in fair-trade certified factories using sustainable materials. To ensure trust through radical transparency, the studio shares the entire journey behind each product from cotton to yarn, making the stories of all garments visible via QR codes that are sewed inside every unique garment.”

Today, it has been a month since I’ve been working here. I have learned remarkably and I can say that I’m proud of this company for being the first sustainable fashion brand in Turkey. Reflect Studio not only produces eco-friendly products, but shares awareness on how to build a better Fashion Industry by being conscious. As stated in the previous paragraph, Reflect believes that every purchase is an endorsement, radical transparency establishes trust and that every garment you wear tells a story. Reflect is also a small bright team with amazing talent and bright ideas. Everybody has a new idea every other day, we share our thoughts, our dreams, our imaginations, and put it onto textile products and also build a story out of it by helping our planet. In our team there are no fashion designers. We design our own graphics and try to relate to the brand we’re working with as much as possible by relating to its story and by expressing its message. Reflect has worked with brands like Small Projects Istanbul, WWF and many more to support social issues.

This company has taught me that there are so little of us in the world that believe in being eco-friendly, building a better future and consuming less. We can easily make a difference by supporting brands like Reflect. I’m really glad I have the experience to work with such conscious individuals. Hopefully it will become a worldwide known brand in the near future and mass brands will get a little inspired and decide that it’s time for a change in the Fashion Industry.

Cheers to a more conscious living planet!

--

--