Individuality and Passion

Nikhiel Khanna
2 min readSep 8, 2016

--

I was a student in former USSR during communist times. There were about seventy of us, Indian students in the hostel. I remember that period very well, perhaps it was the best time of my life. There was a lot of bonding between us, and some great, lifelong friendships developed at that time.

However, today when I look back I feel there was so much more that we could have done back then. Did I really pursue my own interests during that period? I don’t think so — even though there was so much on the offer. Now when I see so many students travelling for their MBBS course in Georgia I advise them to “search for and find themselves” during this wonderful and formative period of life. To find what interests them and to pursue those interests.

I remember that I went to train for boxing by an Asian games gold medalist in Tashkent, but I didn’t continue for long because a couple of my friends couldn’t cope up with the rigorous exercises. I decided to stop because it was fun only going with my friends, and I used to get bored going there alone. The trainer had insisted that I should continue, but I didn’t. A few of my friends tried learning music, piano and guitar etc but didn’t continue. I wish we were able to balance between friendship, companionship with what we really wish to pursue, our passion.

It took me a long while to start thinking as an individual. Hostel life can sometimes make you like a group of ants which follow one another. One must guard against that.

Just a thought which came to mind today. I hope it makes sense to some of the young students who are going for their MBBS in Georgia to our university.

Read: Is Georgia safe for Indian students

Also read: Problems Indian students can face in Georgia

For more info go to www.dtmuindia.com

Watch Youtube channel: DTMU India

--

--