Niki Clark
4 min readMar 18, 2018

Any thoughts come to your mind when you hear the word empowerment? Such a popular word right now. Google has about 113,000,000 hits for that word as of today.

It is the process of becoming stronger and more confident, especially in controlling one’s life and claiming one’s rights.

Love it!

Based on the definition above, and other words associated with empowerment, do you think you fit in that category? Would you consider yourself empowered? I would encourage everyone to dig deeper no matter what stage you are in your empowerment journey.

I am not a certified empowerment coach, if that is even a title, but I do have some tried and true practices that I would love to share.

Here is my official not so official list:

  1. Books
  2. Tribe
  3. Exercise
  4. Try something new
  5. Network
  6. Inspiration
  7. God’s word
  8. Yoga
  9. Vision board
  10. Gangster rap

Shall we break each of these down? Let’s!

Books. I used to roll my eyes (by the way, I am really good at that) at the thought of “self-help” books. Please, put a lid on it. But then, one got me (Lean In by Sheryl Sandberg). I caution you to pick and choose wisely and please, oh please do not pay anyone money to join some sort of elite club. Do however equip yourself with knowledge and motivation on how to empower yourself!

Tribe. Another catch phrase that drives me nuts, but for the sake of making wanting to get my message across, I am going to use it. Surrounding yourself with others who uplift you, fight for you, encourage you to do better, and also willing to take on anyone who dares harm you, that’s priceless.

Exercise. And I quote from Legally Blonde: “Happy people don’t kill people, they just don’t.” You want to release some endorphins, get moving!

Try Something New. I was quite sure was not for me. I am cool enough, I don’t need to try nothing. Well, I am here to tell you, trying something new, and following through gives you one heck of a confidence boost. Even if you suck at it. It’s as if you are proving you are capable of so much more. You are proving there is potential just waiting to be tapped.

Network. This does not mean you have to sign up for every conference within a 30 mile radius. I would suggest getting yourself out there, one way or another. Happy hours. Dog park. Meetup. Work functions. Seriously. Just try it. You will gain knowledge and skills through other people that you can’t get from a book.

Inspiration. Ever log onto Pinterest and get that decorating bug? Or see a new outfit you plan on copying? Feel that inspiration? Find a way to get inspired and then do it! Make it happen.

God’s Word. I mean, does this really need any further explanation? Read it. Use it. Every. Single. Day. Personally, I like Bible.com. They have a great app too! You can invite your tribe on it too.

Yoga. I put yoga apart from exercise because per my experience, yoga is a whole other

entity. It requires you to focus your mind and your body. To be quiet. To pay attention to every fiber. Then your body starts doing these amazing things you never knew you could do! There are some poses I am sure I would break my neck, but doesn’t stop me from trying. I’ll get there. You can too.

Vision Board. Holy moly these things work! Think of them as a grown up version of a collage project for school. Your vision board should be your goals, your dreams, your deepest desires. And place that sucker where you will see it every day. Wake up and look at it and then press on. What do you want for your life? Make it visible. Outta sight outta mind. Put that in your sight in your mind!

Rap. “Throw on some gangster rap and handle it.”

Girl, watch you grow.

Niki Clark

Life does not come with a cheat sheet. Luckily we can learn from others. I am here to share life lessons and offer some motivation. Let's do this!