Journaling Made Easy: How Daily Pages Transformed My Self-Reflection

Niklaus Gerber
5 min readOct 26, 2023

If you embark on your self-improvement journey, you must start journaling. I fully believe in the benefit of journaling (science also backs it up). Still, I never got into a good habit of writing every day. For me, it was always a very disconnected chore.

In the last five years, I learned that regular self-reflection is your superpower to become a better human. I wanted to find a way to reflect daily without the feeling that I had to write pages and pages of things. I stumbled over the concept of daily pages. Daily pages combine writing prompts and blend into your workflow. It was the first time I spent every day writing a bit, reflecting and rating how my days were going. Some days I only wrote a few words. On other days, I wrote long trains of thoughts. My daily pages became my desk. Cluttered in the evening and cleaned in the morning.

I share with you how I built the structure of my daily page and why it works so well for me. I made a template in Notion that gives me a clean page with different categories every morning. I walk you through them one by one.

Daily Check-In

The daily check-in is the first thing I fill every morning. It contains three writing prompts and a list of habits I want to keep up. These are my writing prompts:

--

--

Niklaus Gerber

I assist companies with digital innovation. I guide teams, shape products, refine strategies and make things simpler, smarter and more helpful.